We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
Ranked #7 of 559 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just happened upon this restaurant when visiting Chester and was very impressed with the creative menu. A lovely dining experience and the service was great as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    212
    81
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice food but spoilt by the smell of the kitchen”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit in a long time and we were looking forward to it as the reviews had been great.
To be fair the food was very good and imaginative and the service was spot on however there is a terrible fatty/oily smell in the place and it permeates your clothes. Good food but not a nice experience when people comment that you smell terrible!

Helpful?
Thank graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solo traveller”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was initially given a table upstairs, but as a solo eater I felt downstairs was more lively and the staff quickly relocated me at my request. The menu was different with lots of flavours on each plate, very unusual couplings! I enjoyed each course. The staff were young but very very professional.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyH725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I often give excellent reviews (because I use Tripadvisor to guide me). but here you need a better than excellent rating.

I'd not heard of the Sticky Walnut until a friend wrote on Facebook "arguably the best food I've ever had!!". That friend eats out a lot and knows a lot about food (her partner is a very successful chef) so I thought I'd better visit!

Had the crispy lamb’s tongue, chickpea, goats curd and green charmoula for a starter (which looked great and tasted fantastic and then had cinnamon braised pork cheek and roast fillet, butternut squash croquettes and apple relish which also was very good. Service was prompt, and friendly, and it's a 10 minute walk from Chester station.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A real treat.....excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Warm and welcoming, the first impression, after that things got even better. Chateaubriand all round, was to die for. Looking forward to going back... But not cheap ....and a treat for special occasions....if we can wait that long. Loved it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing