We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real 'me to me' treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
Ranked #8 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $111
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A real 'me to me' treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have been going to the restaurant premises for the last 5 years. Formerly the pleasant Hoole Bistro, the Sticky Walnut has promoted the Charles Street location into the Premier League. Excellent food, attentive and knowledgeable service.

We took our son and his girlfriend there for a treat last night. A big success. We all chose from the imaginative range of starters and then all opted for the Chateaubriand as the centre piece of our meal. We all raved about the food and the cosy atmosphere. A big success.

A real treat! - but who was it really for? - My guilty secret.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,141
    208
    78
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“In reverence to the chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My work took me to Chester, a place I truly adore. Heard about this fab place from business colleagues and wow, they were not wrong. A restaurant that makes its own bread is a fabulous thing, really made from scratch and not just bought in and passed off as home made. This focaccia was the bees knees. Everything we tasted was divine, the tender beef, the arancini the gorgeous sweets and more. A fabulous atmosphere and so well done. A night to remember and the thoughtful staff looked after us brilliantly. What impressed was it's such a cosy place that delivers the best, we have done the very posh with no substance and this was a breath of fresh air. We'll done to all, possibly a carls berg moment, possibly the best we have ever had.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectweekend_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had lunch here last weekend. Lovely place, and really good food and service. The only downside was that there was only one vegetarian choice on the menu that day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanHol15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I just really like this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been twice, and like the atmosphere, the food and the service. Average price I think, not overly expensive, but worth the visit because the food is really good. I've just been to the Fishpool Inn at Delamere which has just have over £1m spent on it and the atmosphere wasn't as good as the small and intimate Sticky Walnut!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Cannot fault the food, beet, sticky walnut and ricotta stunning, great atmosphere and service, I would recommend to everyone, perhaps expensive, but perfect for Sunday lunch, I want to go again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooniej8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing