We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, cosy atmosphere with good service”
Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
Ranked #8 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $111
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food, cosy atmosphere with good service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely meal with interesting choices, including delicious quail Wellington and shin of beef. Compact but good wine list. It's a cosy conversion of a terraced house, a Little of the beaten track but gives you a chance to see the village feel of hoole which is approx 20 mins from the centre. I'd definitely go back. Not the cheapest ever with extra veg required with main courses, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    210
    80
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic meal, full of flavour and textures. I would thoroughly recommend this as a quirky place to eat. It was full of atmosphere and the staff were great. Fabulous wine too. Only negative it's cramped. The parmesan chips are to die for!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adoptedwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love Hoole, love the Sticky Walnut which you can walk to from the city center if you don't mind stretching your legs. Small, cosy, intimate. I have never felt rushed there. Hoole itself has a quaint little villagey feel, with excellent local shops (for local people :) like a fishmonger and old fashioned green grocer (remember them?). I have never had anything that has not been delicious here and I even like food they cook that I don't like when I cook it myself (liver). Service has always been extremely professional - they care about food, and they care that you like what they have given you. They once served me something that was very slightly overdone on the outside. I had not noticed or cared but the waiter brought over complimentary drinks to say sorry - my companion and I took five minutes to try and figure out which of our meals she was saying was overdone. I love this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hobbyistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
820 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I could just say super but Trip Advisor like more detail. It's outside the city centre, free parking nearby, small room but tables not crowded, interesting lunch menu, food good, nice wine, friendly staff. Yes it's in a terraced property on a drab street but once inside it is super.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow what a fabulous find.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The creme brulee is the best i have ever tasted. The goats cheese beetroot and sticky walnuts were to die for and the service superb. Will go back again and again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jag673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing