We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for anywhere, outstanding for Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
Ranked #8 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $111
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent for anywhere, outstanding for Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This really is an excellent restaurant - real quality all the way through. For pudding, try the chocolate ganache with salted caramel - outstanding. Service excellent and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voldadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,141
    208
    78
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my second visit, having had an excellent time here in December. I have to say that in 20 years of eating in some of the best restaurants in Europe, this is by far and away my favourite.

The menu is so imaginative and so far removed from the norm. Every person on our table were amazed at the quality and artistry of the dishes. The combinations with the ingredients worked so well and there wasn't a single grumble.

I cannot fault anything with this restaurant and will be back for many more visits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cossie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Chester by a country mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Service is friendly and welcoming and you don't feel silly asking about specific dishes, food is fantastic and I mean fantastic. Prices are very reasonable for the standard that is delivered. I have eaten at all the restaurants that are above this on TA which is may reason for the review, as this is a class above!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IainS212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding, a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this small quirky restaurant when I checked out Tripadvisor write ups, very glad I did, simply outstanding! Took my Mum as a late Mothers Day pressie! Not a huge menu and a real mixture of ideas. Mackeral and Sea Bream starters both amazing....but if you don't do raw fish don't have the bream...but it was shockingly tasty and not at all what I expected. Pork cheek for mains, a different cut but again cooked to perfection!
Service was provided by young people and was excellent! Atmosphere was great, place was packed but not in a bad way, very very popular, book very early!!
Whilst the portion are small they are in line with prospective Michelin starred restaurants, that's how good it was! Price reflects how good it was but totally stunning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Istanbul0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding for food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Pickled Walnut catered for our daughter's wedding and we can't find the words to say how outstanding they were. The food was perfect, the service was excellent and the advice throughout, what could be a stressful process, was always welcome and appropriate. Whilst they cater for any venue, the Palm House in Sefton Park was perfect as a setting and complimented the informal "lazy susan" buffet of beef, hotpot, fish and chips, pasta, salads - the food went on and on - and every dish was beautifully cooked and served to over 100 people. The trio of puddings with ice cream were delicious and the fantastic nibbles served beforehand had guests salivating for more. Thank you so much, Pickled Walnut - we may have to plan another wedding to use you again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BartieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing