We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sticky Walnut

Sticky Walnut
Ranked #8 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $111
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food.service.atmosphere.seating.quaity.all excellent and well wortha visit can not wait for the next occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hap H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    208
    78
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't know how they do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I had chicken liver parfait followed by locally shot rabbit! All served really well in 45 minutes. I want to go back again for lunch tomorrow! Great service and fantastic food! Well done a real asset to Chester City

Helpful?
Thank MarkHuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wish it were our local restaurant....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

really liked this place, friendly staff, great food, nice relaxed atmosphere so very happy with whole experience, thank you

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Small, intimate, exquisite food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A small restaurant with lots of character, and very intimate. Lunchtime menu was very reasonable at around £8.00 for a main, and the three meals we ordered were all beautifully cooked. Downstairs is vibrant with a view of the chef busying himself, upstairs? if I had a choice I wouldn't sit there, it is a different world, and is quite a contrast to the atmosphere of the ground floor.
Service? well that's a difficult one, very attractive girls who are both efficient to the point of being brusque. They were spot on with everything they did, but something, perhaps it was a pleasant attitude, was sadly missing, Also,I do object to not being acknowledged with a 'thank you and goodbye' on leaving any establishment, especially after I had left a generous cash tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having eaten here on several occasions now, I feel i am qualified to rate this place and it is brillinat.
I have never eaten a bad meal here, never suffered from anything other than perfect service and I always feel comfortable in the place.
Truly brilliant and I would recommend the Jacobs Ladder when its on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Walnut also viewed

 

Been to Sticky Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing