We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Little Tin Chapel

Open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen
Lovely, spacious back garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen
Lovely, spacious back garden.
Super Kingsize (can be set up as twin room)
The extremely comfortable super king size bed. The zip and link bed can be made into two twin beds.
The super king or twin room has a dressing table with mirror and a wardrobe with full length mirror.
Double bedroom
Relax in the Victorian style bath. There are blinds to pull down over the window.
The Little Tin Chapel, Chester's only remaining tin Chapel, is opposite the Shropshire Union Canal.
The decked area out of the double patio doors.
8 foot Christmas tree beside to log burning stove.
The tree in the front garden of the Little Tin Chapel can be seen peeking up on the left hand side.
A stroll away from the ancient city walls near the Water Tower gardens give access on to the walls.
Opposite the Little Tin Chapel is where you can find this view down the Shropshire Union Canal..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful cottage with a rich history in the middle of Chester! We loved the cosy interior, comfortable beds and the kids loved the games provided! Looking forward to going back there when we visit next!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
260johnc0...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely accommodation in an interesting city”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the Little Tin Chapel for 4 weeks in September 2016 and it was just lovely. The owners met us on arrival, showed us around and provided some interesting information on the renovation of the chapel as well as tips on Chester itself. This was much appreciated as were the quick responses to some queries that we had during our stay.

The chapel has been well described by other reviewers and we found it to be exactly as described and pictured. It is very roomy, well equipped, has a very comfortable bed and is quiet. The fire adds an additional degree of ambiance to a delightful setting.

Our stay in Chester included exploring the city and the local area as well as using the trains to go further afield. Walks along the canal and the city walls to town were an easy and enjoyable experience. The train station is about a 20 minute walk and has a good fast train service to London and Edinburgh.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2016KHF
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Relaxing stay with parents”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is an amazing conversion, tastefully decorated, with everything that is needed for a great relaxing stay. The beds were amazingly comfortable.
Our only negative throughout the stay was the difficult in parking outside of the property and the noise from the street. This may have been due to our stay coinciding with the Chester races, but the only time we could park outside the property was on arrival at the start of the stay. We were even unable to park in the adjacent streets on occasion. Our advice would be to park the car and don't move it during the stay, unless you are willing to take the risk of not parking nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazingly comfortable beds
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
It will be busier than usual when the Chester races are on. but sorry to hear you had so much difficulty. We have now managed to arrange a permanent parking space for our guests in a small private car park just a couple of minutes walk away, so parking at the Chapel will no longer be a problem,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan1902
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect! ”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Booking was easy and owner kept in regular contact for any information.
I booked this for my partners birthday as we are both history geeks and Chester is rich in history. The Little Tin Chapel is ideally placed to explore Chester, only ever taking us 10/15 Minutes at most to get to where we needed to be!
When we arrived it was clean, tidy and beautiful! It has all the amenities you would need.
We had no problem with parking, we parked right outside the door and no traffic noise.
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we returned to Chester!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, sounds like it was a great birthday surprise for your partner. We are so pleased to hear that parking and road noise was not a problem for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynneylaw
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“homely, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Positives: Lovely building. Location convenient. Property clean/well equipped. Bath lovely. Bed huge.
Negatives: Parking a nightmare. At night the roads became v v noisy - sounded like they were full of boy racers!!! every night, sleep was disturbed by this! Waited over a week for deposit return which not had to do before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property itself
Liked least: actual roads surrounding property/parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
So glad you enjoyed the Chapel and found the location so convenient but am very sorry to hear that the parking was difficult. We are trying to get a designated parking place outside the Chapel and will continue to push for this although, usually, it is possible to park within a couple of streets during the day and closer in the evening.
I was also really sorry to hear that you were so troubled by noise on the road at night. We haven't ever experienced this ourselves and no-one else has mentioned it before so, hopefully, it was a one off. I can only apologise and will spend some time there myself to check on the situation.

Holiday Lettings standard policy is to return the damage deposit after 10 days, this allows time for the owner to get in touch with them if they find there has been any damage.

I do hope you still enjoyed your holiday and all that Chester has to offer.
Kind regards, Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejones398
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restoration”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a great place to stay for a Chester/Cheshire break. The "Tin Chapel" has been very well restored and equipped with all modern conveniences you would wish for (what a fantastic shower and bath). I would recommend this place to anyone interested in historic architecture as a place to stay and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture and standard of restoration.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would like to live here!”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing building and how well kitted out too. We wanted to be close to chester to explore but also have somewhere spacious and cosy for when the baby was feeding, and it provided both. As an Architect I was also impressed by the quality of restoration carried out. Superb. I wouldn't even consider staying any where else if I returned to Chester. Thank you also for accomodating early check in time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing