We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chester Canal View

Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Large shower cubicle........................Kitchenette with breakfast basket.
What else do you need to relax and enjoy visiting Chester?
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by night
Romantic and what an outlook?
Misty morning over the Water Tower
Your view to the snowy lock in Winter (hopefully just winter!!)
Splendid quiet country environment,yet still in the heart of Chester
Dusk at Tower Wharf and the Dee Basin, a mass of history surrounds you at Chester Canal View.
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free secure parking!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becca1971
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Chester Canal view is perfect in every way! The accommodation is lovely and has everything you could need for a relaxing break. The little touches such as the sun decking and breakfast basket really do make it that bit different. Ken was the perfect host, with great communication and offered good suggestions of places to visit and eat. The location is perfect for easy access into the centre of Chester and the private, secure parking is a real bonus. Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will be back and will definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelshandP...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven!”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and I returned from Canal View on Easter Monday. We had a wonderful time. Location was excellent as was the accomodation. Ken the owner was very nice and gave us some information on places in and around Chester. We had a welcome basket of goodies. Everything you could think of for breakfast along with Ham, yoghurt and milk in the fridge. It was lovely to overlook the canal whilst having our breakfast and in the evening with a glass of wine......or two!
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family and return ourselves in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizyManch...
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having booked for one nights stay, was disappointed to find it was just a downstairs room in someone's house. Regarding the canal view, due to being at ground level with a footpath immediately past the window we had the curtains closed most of the time to prevent the numerous dog walkers looking in! Also with being a downstairs room in someone's house we could hear every noise coming from upstairs, We knew what channel on TV they were watching, could hear every footstep with the creaking floorboards, and their child shouting and crying especially the following morning at 06.30, all in all was glad to return home for a rest (minus £95).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
I am truly sorry that you were disappointed with your one night stay in Chester and am very concerned this resulted in you giving Chester Canal View a less than highly rated review as I am rightly very proud of all of my past reviews. But I nevertheless do appreciate your honest feedback and understand your negative feelings.
It was very unfortunate that I had relatives staying upstairs that night in what is normally a very quiet part of the house and that my young granddaughter was unwell and could not settle which is very likely, in the main, what disturbed you during the day and early morning.
In hindsight, I did not fully appreciate the risk of welcoming both family and guests simultaneously should things not run smoothly. I have certainly learnt from this and will ensure there is no overlap in the future.
I have always tried to offer my guests the best experience I can and for your part, I would like to try to regain your appreciation of Chester Canal View. Therefore, given the circumstances, I would like to offer you a greatly reduced rate should you accept a return visit in the future when I will do my best to ensure your utmost satisfaction with your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you need in lovely Chester”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A really lovely apartment near the canal & everything you need for a short stay. Ken the host was very helpful and make sure you go to Telfords for great beer/food, oh and a free bottle of wine! The breakfast basket was perfect. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen2710
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great first visit to Chester”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was a fantastic find on the Holiday Lettings website,everything was great,the accomadation ,in a central location,although very compact had everything we needed,it was exceptionally clean and Ken,the owner was very accomadating and on hand for any issues or problems,of which we had none .The Breakfast basket was well stocked ,probably would have liked a small loaf to be able to have toast ,just a small issue. TV reception not always good but again not a major issue. Also Ken provided a card for us to take to the Telford Warehouse,which enabled us to have a free bottle of wine every time we ate there,the food served was very nice and a good variety with very good portions. Would definitely recommend,will be especially nice in summer as there is a nice area to sit outside and look at the canal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedome
wigan, lancs
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Canal View is ideal for a couple of nights stay in Chester, convenient for city centre with lovely view of canal, room is spotless and ideal for one or two nights, although you find a little small if staying longer. Little kitchen is quirky but again a little small, owner greets you and provides loads of info on things to do, always on hand to help but not intrusive, overall great for a couple of nights

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mother830
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed here with my sister for one night ,just wished we could of stayed longer .The room is spotless clean, very well furnished ,great view out to the canal ,and the icing on the cake a basket full to the brim of luvly goodies for breakfast .If you thought it stopped there it has wot you can only describe as a mini kitchen with everything you need ,(kettle microwave mini oven toaster and all the dishes etc you need )Ken the owner is there if you need him ,and will give you any info you need to make your stay a good one without being in your face .Its in a nice quiet area,so you get a good nights sleep in the king size bed ,but its only a 10min walk into the town center ,or 5mins to Telford Warehouse for a great meal and good entertainment .i will certainly be booking here again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing