We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding, stylish cottage”

Review of The Tack Room

Elegant newly fitted kitchen with granite worktops, double oven 7 burner range cooker, dishwasher
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elegant newly fitted kitchen with granite worktops, double oven 7 burner range cooker, dishwasher
Beautiful and stylish two bedroom en-suite getaway. Sympathetic 19th century barn conversion The elegant and handsome building leads onto a lovely garden perfect for al fresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Elegant newly fitted kitchen with granite worktops, double oven 7 burner range cooker, dishwasher
Beautiful and stylish two bedroom en-suite getaway. Sympathetic 19th century barn conversion
The elegant and handsome building leads onto a lovely garden perfect for al fresco dining
Bursting with colour all year round !
Relax and enjoy the view of the garden, or sample one of the books, cd's or dvd's available
Stylish and comfortable living room with 32 inch TV, Freesat, dvd player and music centre.
Well proportioned and stylish lobby entrance leading on to a double aspect open plan ground floor
Open plan ground floor with luxurious feel, underfloor heating throughout and views of the garden
Bedroom 1  - Large boutique style room with Kingsize bed, high quality bed linen and towels
Bedroom 1 - Individually designed with skylight and characterful windows
Immaculate luxurious en-suite with spacious walk in shower, & thoughtful directional lighting
Large sun filled and airy landing with stunning centrepiece chandelier
Bedroom 2.  Large boutique style room with Kingsize bed, high quality bed linen and towels
Bedroom 2 - Well appointed dressing table area with large mirror
Bedroom 2 - Bespoke upholstered headboard combined with high quality bed linen and towels
Bedroom 2 - King size bed can be transformed into a twin if required
Indulge in the finer things that Chester has to offer!
Drive way parking for two vehicles, with private entrance to the property
Enjoy local walks one minute from your front door with the foothills of Snowdonia in the distance
Historic Chester City centre with its ancient thoroughfares and iconic Rows are very close by
Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet with over 145 leading brands at discount prices is minutes away!
The oldest race course in the country is 4 miles away. Hosting races at the 'Roodee' since 1539!
Day trip to Wales to enjoy the stunning scenery of the world renowned Snowdonia national park
Chester Zoo is minutes away by car, everyone go ahh at the brand new baby rhino! Voted best UK Zoo!
Chester Zoo is minutes away by car, everyone go ahh!
Chester Zoo is minutes away by car, everyone go ahh!
Inspired by the The Open from Royal Liverpool? Then the course and 13 others are a short drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding, stylish cottage”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We needed a small cottage to stay for a week to cook a wedding cake - what an excellent place - fantastic kitchen with great facilities - the rest of the cottage was amazing - great décor & loved the underfloor heating - perfect for a chilly week - we didn't even notice the weather. The owner couldn't have been more helpful, supplying us with essentials we'd left at home! The location was great, in a rural village, with handy shop nearby but only 10 mins from Chester. Lovely touches in addition to all you'd normally want in a holiday getaway. Better than home from home! Would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable & warm, very helpful owner
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya0109...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning conversion & great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfect birthday treat, chosen and booked by my wife. A stunning conversion with all the character, a credit to the owner Clare.
Very warm and cosy. Bed and linen was of high quality, as well as all furniture/ensuite's. Lots of space throughout. The toys/books were very much appreciated by our five year old daughter.
Location is perfect; friendly pub across the road, bus stop a few hundred yards which takes you to Chester. Chester Zoo, Chesire Oaks and Liverpool all within 10-35 mins by car. Supermarket a few mins walk.
We have stayed in a fair few holiday rentals over the years and we would highly recommend this one.
Keep up the good work Clare, all the best for the future and we hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: Parking on the drive a little tricky but not an issue
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location,couldn't fault a thing,just loved it”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A great time was had,easy reach bus to Chester,don't bother going in car,it's cheap enough on the bus and quick.takeaway Chinese up road lovely,pub 6 doors away!,plenty to do in area,just couldn't fit it all in,!will definitely be returning to this lovely gem,the tack room is a beautiful little find,we could not have asked for more!.michelle&jamie,chesterfield.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowDa...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Practically perfect”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at the Tack Room for 4 nights during school holidays. Wanted a base near Chester to visit family and enjoy the area. Originally planned on booking a hotel but with a 6-year-old, evenings cooped up in a hotel room didn't fill me with joy! Having looked into available holiday cottages, The Tack Room caught my eye and I was NOT disappointed. Cottage had everything we could need - off-street parking, great kitchen, comfy sitting room (with TV, DVDs, books and a selection of toys for kids). Bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated. Our 6-y-o diva daughter was especially pleased to have her own en-suite and it was a lovely touch that Clare (the owner) had left a soft-toy rabbit for her on her bed.

Location was great with short journeys to Chester, Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo to name a few.

Greyhound Inn (pub) is only two minutes away and also friendly welcome there.

Couldn't fault the accommodation and we look forward to booking again and returning soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAK483
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I was looking for top notch self-catering accommodation in the Chester area for myself and a friend who I hadn't seen in a long time. The property needed to have at least 2 bedrooms and a bathroom each. The Tack Room stood out head and shoulders above the rest in my search and certainly ticked all our boxes. In fact, it almost sounded too good to be true!

However, it was everything and more than we were expecting and we couldn't fault it at all. Clare was very welcoming and friendly and had obvious pride in her management of the Tack Room. As other guests have already said, it was an exceptionally stylish home from home and also very warm and cosy.

Perfectly placed for Chester and Cheshire Oaks. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 large en-suite bedrooms and stylish decor
Liked least: Sloped deep shingled drive
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnagPaw
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for two nights over the Chester marathon weekend and had a really good stay. The quality of the accommodation is top notch and exceeded our expectations considering the rate per night. We had everything we needed and every room was very comfortable. Clare provided a travel cot, stair gate, loads of puzzles and drawing books for our two and half year old daughter which was really great. We'll definitely stay here again when we're in Chester again and have recommended it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds & beautiful kitchen
Liked least: Gravel drive was a bit tricky
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaAhm...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When we arrived at the tack room we fell in love with it straight away. Brilliantly decorated by Clare. It had everything we needed and more. It's home from home! We was very comfortable and so pleased. It has a brilliant location just 10 mins to chester cost £8 in a taxi. Down the road from the cottage there is a coop food and a pub. I will definitely be returning!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing