We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year to remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year to remember!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Love this place! Have been in for a couple of times when visiting Chester and it keeps on getting better and better. Really lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and even though we haven't had a meal there yet, the food looks amazing! We were in Chester for new year and had only planned to pop in for a drink or two and ended up staying here all night, we had a great time! The live music added to the already lively atmosphere. The staff were fantastic and the place has been decorated so tastefully, even the toilets were impressive! Had a great night, looking forward to visiting again soon and definitely going to have a meal next time. The best pub in Chester in my opinion!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbosullivan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    90
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

After a long December in the hospitality trade I opted for a night away to chill and recharge

The kings head came up on last minute.com so I decided to give it a whirl based on its central location and price

£60 for a 4 poster bed without breakfast bargain

I will get straight to the point,

Great location
Great nights sleep
Great staff and management
Peroni on draught

Free parking when available, what more can I ask for

Really enjoyed so will be booking again soon

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Last O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights between christmas and new year. Staff very friendly and helpful good atmosphere.Saturday night good singer in bar we loved the location close to city walls and river and lots of good ale houses!Looking forward to returning soon.We stayed in room 5 which was plenty big enough and nice and warm.New bathroom but shower not great but we managed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ye Olde kings head made for a great base on a pre christmas trip to Chester. The pub is charming, you feel like you are stepping back in time, great location, great food but in the main the stay was made by the staff who were extremely welcoming and accommodating, the owner even gave us a lift to the station when we couldn't find a free taxi - Wow !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent 2 nights here, 23rd & 24th of December, Wonderful old building with open fires, very friendly staff with a relaxing atmosphere, and the food was excellent, way above your normal food fayre, didnt actually see any ghosts but would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous. Was here just saturday 21st december with family that had travelled from other side of country for the weekend so we decided to bring them to chester. This pub my boyfriend and i discovered a few months back after looking for 'a lovely pub with lots of character, which serves good food and drinks' after all the years we've both been visiting chester we finally found one but didn't quite deliver that- It blew us away instead. Loads of character, medieval settings and fixtures. Wood is sourced from old sunken ships for the beams. Food is unbelievable.. Great value, beautifully presented and probably the best restaurant standard meal in a pub i've ever had. I've paid small fortunes for meals and left dissapointed every time- from places with la de da reputations in such like areas. This place totally does chester justice and is a little gem. I can't wait for my next visit to chester just to come here. I'm going to have the ploughmans next time like my dad did haha. Will try and upload pics too. 5 stars well done all involved! Xxxx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreekBouflets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First time we ventured into this pub even though we visit regularly. Love the set up, good to see staff that know their job and stick to it. Had the fish and chips, mmmmmm the secret recipe for the Batter is a must. Whilst there we saw other meals and we will be back to try these.

Love the history may even try a night or too to stay soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Property: Ye Olde King's Head
Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing