We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must eat here. Next time we're staying to experience the ghosties!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous. Was here just saturday 21st december with family that had travelled from other side of country for the weekend so we decided to bring them to chester. This pub my boyfriend and i discovered a few months back after looking for 'a lovely pub with lots of character, which serves good food and drinks' after all the years we've both been visiting chester we finally found one but didn't quite deliver that- It blew us away instead. Loads of character, medieval settings and fixtures. Wood is sourced from old sunken ships for the beams. Food is unbelievable.. Great value, beautifully presented and probably the best restaurant standard meal in a pub i've ever had. I've paid small fortunes for meals and left dissapointed every time- from places with la de da reputations in such like areas. This place totally does chester justice and is a little gem. I can't wait for my next visit to chester just to come here. I'm going to have the ploughmans next time like my dad did haha. Will try and upload pics too. 5 stars well done all involved! Xxxx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreekBouflets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 434 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

First time we ventured into this pub even though we visit regularly. Love the set up, good to see staff that know their job and stick to it. Had the fish and chips, mmmmmm the secret recipe for the Batter is a must. Whilst there we saw other meals and we will be back to try these.

Love the history may even try a night or too to stay soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I paid the pub a visit one evening during our stay in Chester. Their selection of real ales was good and well kept. There was an open fire which was wlcoming but one of the bar doors was constantly open! This led the place to be very draughty, which was a shame as I would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jewksmwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Me and my 3 sister' stayed here on 5th Dec, we walked in to be greeted by Demi, she made us feel so welcome, the fire was lit, the tree was up and it looked brill, it dates back to the 1620's and is so olde worldy looking with big old beams and low door frames, you expect Henry the 7th to walk in any minute. I would recomend this place as it's lovley, the breakfasts and meals are gorgous, the staff are brill and they all make your stay a memrable one. I will be going back there defenetly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidoLancashireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location, full of character, cosy and very warm welcome, roaring fire and a great hearty breakfast x Stayed in haunted room 4, only discovered after check in! Great little find if a little noisy-just street noise, when windows are so original you just shouldn't expect a tight soundproof fit! Enjoyable Xmas shopping mini trip x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greggspiefactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We called into Ye Olde Kings Head for a meal with friends on a night out in Chester. A lovely traditional pub and it was nice and warm inside with a real fire. The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. This place had a lovely feel about it
We ordered food and the chef even took time to come and speak to us
The food was amazing, steak was cooked to perfection and the lovely fresh homemade soup was a favourite with our friends.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will make sure that we visit again soon
Highly recommend Ye Olde Kings Head whether it be just a drink, a meal out or even an overnight stay in Chester
Thank you for a fab time xx

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in room 2 for one night this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room, like the rest of the pub, is full of character with old beams, small doorways and wonky floors. It was cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed.

We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar, we didn't eat there but the food smelt good and seemed very reasonably priced. Character and history oozes out of every corner of the place which I found to be cosy and welcoming.

The location of Ye Olde Kings Head is fantastic for exploring the city day and night. A minute or two from the city walls and river in one direction and two or three minutes from the rows and umpteen bars and restaurants in the other.

It was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gotthebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#6 of 76 in Chester
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $120 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing