We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just popped in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“just popped in”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

just popped in for a quick meal,we had the 10oz gammon it took a while to come,but whats the rush,it melted in the mouth best gammon we have had in a long time really old pub but nice to get hand cut home made chips

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redzorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    90
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Called in on our return to our hotel, bar staff were friendly and they offer a nice selection of beers. The decor is wonderful and you can really 'feel' the history of the place, with tables showing literature on the history of the furnishings. All in all prices are low and the is well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked this pub because it was a great price,not realising it had paranormal history we stayed in room 6 i saw nothing .I would recomend this hotel very comfortable staff are very friendly food was great,near to the centre and racecourse ,the owner harry was full of information very friendly,we would return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th0mas1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire uk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights
staff all so friendly and helpful.
Room was so quaint in keeping with building, ensuite was so new white fresh and spotless
Fab position just by river one way and shops the other
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this place, i have been a few times in the past and each time i visit i find the changes amazing, Harry and Becky the owners are really working hard to make this the place it is now, had a family meal while we were walking along the river last month and could not fault the food or price.
I stayed last night in a fantastic room at a good price, the option of staying and not rushing back to Wrexham after a few pints was worth while when you weigh up your cost of public transport and having free car parking.
The charm of the staff and the character of the pub makes a fantastic place,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The kings head is in a brilliant location, literally a three minute walk to the river one way and the town hall the other way. It's close to the bus exchange (around ten min walk) and there are restaraunts literally two minutes from the door. 24/7 tesco close by for bottled water etc. Breakfast was excellent quality would recommend sausage and egg on ciabatta although service quite slow. Room was comfortable and pretty, which made up for size as it was quite small, but nicely decorated and had a nice view of surrounding old buildings. I would definitely recommend staying here, the location made all the difference to our stay, as it was so easy and fast to go where we wanted to. Staff all very friendly and helpful and atmosphere generally relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shcorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were staying in a b and b so just wanted a drink and meal. Our drinks were fine but also ordered food at same time, Only to be told about 15 minutes later that the chef had to make some more chips Ok. But during this time the chef was seen walking about the pub.. When asked when food would bw served no reply, so we gave up and got our money back and left.
I dont agree with the many revues on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I have spoken to the staff concerned, they have assured me that when placing the order, you were informed of the delay for homemade chips. All our food is cooked fresh when ordered, this can sometimes command a longer waiting time. We are extremely sorry that your order was delayed longer than expected, for this we apologise and a full refund was given.

Our head chef had a number of orders in the kitchen at the time and was definitely not in the bar. Another member of the kitchen staff could possibly have popped down, but it was not the head chef.

You state that you don't agree with the majority of our reviews on trip-advisor, but this does not echo the numerous complimentary comments received both on trip-advisor, via email and social media.

We do apologise again for your wait, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Property: Ye Olde King's Head
Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing