We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing pub for overnight stay in Chester!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde King's Head
Ranked #4 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Smashing pub for overnight stay in Chester!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had gone to Chester for some shopping and ended up staying over. We had only gone in the pub for a drink, but ended up enquiring how much the rooms were..at £49, we couldn't refuse!

We were given a superior room as that's all that was left! It was spacious with a 4 poster! It was convenient for the shops plus free parking at the back! I can recommend this lovely inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    90
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I popped in here for a quick drink this past Saturday night and we really liked it. The decor is fabulous; dark, rich wood and leather, lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even exchanging a drink with no questions asked when my girlfriend's half a cider didn't agree with her after the initial sip. Definitely worth a punt if you're in Chester city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _richardkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch with my mum and sister when in chester for a day out. From the outside I wasn't expecting much - just a standard pub lunch. Inside it was a quant pub lit with candles and there was nice classical music playing. There wasnt many people inside although it was a weekday lunchtime and was pouring down outside.
The menu is standard pub food - burger and chips, lasagna, bangers and mash etc. I ordered bangers and mash and the others in my party ordered burger and chips and steak and ale pudding I think. When the food came out we were all starving and the food looked lovely. My bangers and mash was really nice. The sausages were a very good quality and there was a red wine gravy that really complimented the whole dish. The burger that came out was huge! It was definiltley handmade. The chips were nice and thick and crispy. There was a balsamic and pesto drizzle at the side of the chips which was nice for dipping. All dishes were all presented in a very nice way. Much fancier than we expected on walking into the pub. The price was also very good for the food.

All in all it was a lovely birthday lunch and I will definiltley make sure I return to this pub when next in chester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moosey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

my daughter surprised me for my birthday and my wife with a weekend away in chester ,im so glad she booked the olde kings head the rooms were comfy and clean, food and beer excellent and saff very friendly have booked to go back for my wifes birthday in december cannot wait.our friends could not book into the same place as they were fully booked they stayed up the road but next time they are in the same place as they love it . from ken dibdin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mair d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Giles, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ideally located for seeing the city with the added bonus that it has parking so you can leave the car and explore the city on foot. We received a warm welcome from the staff and the owner even took the trouble to greet us. We had a quaint but tastefully furnished and very clean room with fresh flowers on the bedside table - a lovely touch. The breakfast was freshly cooked and tasted so good that we decided to eat there the following evening when we found the food was every bit as good and reasonably priced. All the staff were very willing to please and nothing was too much trouble - thank you for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChalfontC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Food was very impressive - we both had the lasagne, and agreed it was probably the best pub lasagne we'd ever had, thick and meaty with a decent pail of chips on the side. Staff were friendly and welcoming, although there was quite a wait between the starter and main. Even after they asked if we were ready for it there was at least another 10-15 minutes before the food arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

went for a meal here during our stay in Chester. good atmosphere in an historic setting. we chose the steak pudding which was more suet than meat. gravy was the best part of the meal. I chose chips rather than horseradish mash. either the pint was expensive or I was charged for the chips as an extra!!! staff were very good. choice of ales were poor. wont be going back. better pub/ale/food next door at the 'Tap'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Property: Ye Olde King's Head
Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing