We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #57 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here this weekend with the girls for a early 30th get away. The b&b was lovely, clean & comfortable. The staff were so lovely & friendly & made us feel very welcome! Alex who served us breakfast in the morning was so bubbly & friendly, the service was fantastic too. My friend managed to leave her hand bag on the bar when we came in, in the early hours & when she realised the next morning she went to check at reception, it was returned with all the money & content too! Now that's honesty! We will certainly stay here again, the location is very good too, only cost £8 in the minibus to town. The full English breakfast was fantastic too!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanisha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the hamilton for 2 nights. We were greeted by a lady and gentleman who were very friendly and helpful.
The location was great, within walking distance to the centre and train station (we took the train to liverpool) We visited the zoo which was only a 10/15 minute drive away.
The breakfast (we chose full english) was lovely. The dining room was very traditional and homely.
The only downside is the rooms could do with a touch up. As they were looking abit tired and double bed was not a double maybe a 3/4! And some plugs in more convenient places. (Next to beds to charge phones not next to the front door and bathroom 4foot off the floor)
If we go back to chester we will be coming back here as the service was excellent. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The key to good service is usually how somebody deals with an issue. A few days after staying at Hamilton Court we discovered that my son had lost his jacket. When we contacted Hamilton Court, we had an immediate response to say that a jacket had been found on the stairs. They offered to post us the jacket free of charge and the jacket duly arrived. If that's not good service, I don't know what is.
The establishment is very nice with a good breakfast and a very friendly lady who does the breakfast. The place very much runs on honesty. There is a small bar where you help yourself to drinks and then record the details on a piece of paper. Remember this a guesthouse not a hotel. As regards location, it is convenient for the city centre, although the often quoted 10 minute walk was a bit optimistic.
All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night at the weekend for the races. Really friendly and great breakfast. Alex who works there is great, chatty and knowledgable. It's not the ritz but certainly no slum, just a good value, cosy b&b

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our aniversary. The hostess alex was amazing very welcoming and very helpful. The down fall of our weekend was that the expecations of what we read on here and other websites they said they had ironing facilities there was non. We had to ring up asking for one from a phone behind a bar(after failing to respond to the bell) with no attendance to ask for one. a friend of the owner gave us his own personal one which was still hot and had to then ask again for an ironing board. we then had to return ironing board back down the 4 flights of stairs and again used the phone to call to ask where to return it he stated to place it behind bar. (This gentlemen mentioned that he was the owners friend and was a guest to) It also stated on website 24 hour reception/bar we had to get our own drinks and write it down on a piece of paper. (Again we rang the bell but failed to get a reponse so had to ring up) It was very dated bed where nosiey bedroom really dark with lighting on. Water took a long while to warm up. Overall our stay was quite pleasent due to alex. I wouldnt stay again as really over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleighChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Alex the hostess with the mostest!! Brilliant breakfast with wonderful china and cutlery and friendly manager. Near enough to walk to the centre. they didn't mind us having food in the room( we have exhausted ourselves from walking all day and can't be asked to go out in the night for 2 nights). Clean room but the place on the whole is in desperate need of updating. Mattress not very comfortable and if I'm being picky ,sheets don't match and bottom mattress can be seen when top cover is pulled back.Cups need to be washed better and wet towel on the floor needs to be replaced not re-placed .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank yolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is so friendly and has the hostess with the mostest. Rooms are clean and hospitality fantastic. Breakfast is a big as you want it with a very large selection easy access to city centre in a quiet oasis of the street. Manager is extremely friendly and you feel as though you are home from home. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Have any you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,636 reviews
9.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bed & Breakfast Bed & Breakfast 5 Hamilton Street, Chester CH2 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $70 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing