We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers BUT WORSE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Limes Guest House
Ranked #63 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

7 of my friends (inc my fiancée and I) stayed here last night.

Gosh. Where do I start? It absolutely stank of a retirement home. Like a vintage, soggy hospital even. Just horrible. The actual stench was so overpowering throughout the hallway, eating area and our bedroom.

Awful pillow. And a strange ink type smudge on the linen.

The landlady actually told my friend off for having his leg stretched out under the dining table. (He's 6 ft 2) She wasn't very warming at all. A real stern headmistress type.

All the rooms are the same price, yet my room was so small, you couldn't swing a cat in it. So how comes my friends paid the same rate as us when they had a room double the size?

And do t get me started on the UHT milk at breakfast and the food itself. The sausages were greasy and carcass filled and there was no vegetarian option. NO VEG OPTION? Ridiculous.

Turn around and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiccj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at the Limes a couple of weeks ago and we are full of praise for the Hotel and the staff all of which were very polite and welcoming. The Hotel was very clean and peaceful with just short walk into the beautiful City of Chester. I would happly stay at the Limes again. Nearly forgot to say the breakfast's were good to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms in the limes are clean and tidy and as such, will provide you with a comfortable sleep. The women who runs the B&B however, is substantially less than a treat to deal with. Her snarky comments at breakfast about the greediness of my friend because he had a bowl of cereal before his fry up to prepare for a 80 mile bike ride that day was less than well received. In addition, we were overcharged 30 pounds for the stay and after a small argument, decided to leave it and head on our way. Thus, you'll be well rested but will likely leave with an unpleasant idea of the areas hospitality. Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham14233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Managed to park easily in the good size carpark. A warm welcome from the owner Mel on arrival and issued a key each for the front door and bedroom.

We were on the top floor (room 6) with a double and 2 single beds. Nice spacious room with nice clean linen on the comfy beds (sheets and blankets rather than duvet) .Plenty of extra bedding and pillows in the wardrobe.
2 comfy chairs and quite a few scatter cushions as well.

The ceiling light also had a fan which could be turned on at different speeds-very welcome on this warm weekend.
Plenty of electric sockets in the room. Hairdryer supplied but the safety cut-out seemed to kick in when it got hot after using it for a few minutes.( Used my own travel hairdryer to finish my long hair off so worth taking one along.)
A notice on the wall said iron/ironing board was available.
Wall mounted Freeview flatscreen TV .We couldn't get BBC signal on ours, don't know if that's the case throughout the house, but plenty of other channels available.

The usual beverage tray with tea,coffee,sugar,milk with 4 glasses as well as the 4 cups & saucers.

Plenty of drawers, tops and cupboards for our possessions.

Decent size bathroom with electric shower over the bath. The nice big fluffy towels replaced each day and complimentary shower gel,shampoo and soaps. It was nice to have a toothbrush holder on the wall, not seen this in many places .

Room well maintained with nice clean carpet and curtains.In fact the whole place was clean and well decorated .
The breakfast room was spacious with help yourself to cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices.Also perculated coffee. Toast and tea served at table , along with the cooked breakfast which was very well presented and well cooked . All served by Mel and a friendly young girl. Pleasant outlook over the garden area from the breakfast room. A good start to the day!

Ideally situated being only a short walk into town but far enough out to get away from the hustle & bustle later at night . Banks with outside cashpoints and shops very close by.

Next door,just a few metres walk over the road on the opposite corner to The limes , is The Lodge Bar which is part of The Bawn Lodge hotel. Very popular and also has a beer garden with patio heaters.Free Wi-fi in there as well much to our sons delight. Nice and handy just to roll out of the bar back to the guest house just a few steps away ;)

We felt really welcome and at home at The Limes Guest House and will certainly book here again.

Thanks to Mel and staff for making it a brilliant weekend :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in room 9, a really pleasant room, of good size on the ground floor, shower adequate, double bed comfortable, we were concerned that we may have a problem with noise but this was not the case. Windows need some attention as they were difficult to open. Breakfast was tasty, well presented and plentiful although an extended end time would be appreciated. Mel and staff were kind and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, a really pleasant room, of good size on the ground floor, shower adequate, doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights ,car parking on site so easy to walk to the race-course. Only took 25 minutes from the B&B to the course. Look out for Toby Carvery vouchers on " offer " web-sites as nearest carvery is only 1 mile away.

B&B very nice , welcoming staff , decent breakfast , could have done with a bath as well as a shower ,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

stayed at the limes 6 april early check in was very handy staff were warm and friendly room was very big clean and tidy shower was good plenty of power also there was a trouser press hair dryer tea and coffee facilitys excellent value for money breakfast was very nice would love to stay again

Room Tip: room 9 ground floor was very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123jag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,529 reviews
5 mi away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#35 of 76 in Chester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#15 of 76 in Chester
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#38 of 76 in Chester
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Guest House

Address: 12 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Limes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Guest House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing