We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B & B, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes Guest House
Ranked #58 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed for one night 1st December to do some Christmas shopping/relaxing. The B & B is around a ten minute walk to the city centre - not too far on a clear day. We stayed in Room 9 on the ground floor and were amazed by the size of the room as described by a previous reviewer. The shower wasn't the most powerful but was certainly enough to do its job! I was surprised at how the comfy the bed was and had a great nights sleep.

We left the following morning after a tasty English breakfast (information about breakfast etc was on a sign on the wall as soon as we entered our room) and had a pretty nice stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Can't comment on any of the others, but Room 9 on the ground floor was huge! Even though it was...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJH_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for The Limes Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had room 9, we found everwhere to be spotlessly clean, room 9 was very large with a king size bed, leather sofa, trouser press, tea making facilities and tv with surround sound, large bathroom with shower, the shower however was dissapointingly poor, not powerful enough to have have an enjoyable shower, but we coped. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, full english with toast and preserves. Very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On our recent touring holiday in England, we spent one night at the Limes Guest House. Our room was very roomy with 1 double and 2 single beds for just two of us. Although it is on the main road, we didn't notice any traffic noise.We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. When we left in the morning we mentioned that we were stopping in Chester town centre. The manager told us that parking was expensive in town and suggested that we could walk into town and leave our car at there until we returned. It is less than a mile from the centre and was a very easy walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisX_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at The Limes for one night while in Chester for the marathon.

My double room was clean & comfortable.
The owner was friendly & helpful, providing breakfast at 6:30 on Sunday morning for those of us running the marathon (the porridge was much appreciated).

The Limes is located about 1 mile from the racecourse which was ideal for me.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mh118103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our stay at the Limes was very enjoyable. The room that we had, number 3, whilst not at the back, was not overly noisy. The room was a good size compared to other B and B's and also had a lounge for us to sit on. Mal, the owner was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for a 1 mile walk into Chester city. The B and B helped make for a very pleasant stay in Chester.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was fine. However, we received poor service the following morning at breakfast time.

My two daughters (aged 4 and 19 months) refused to drink the milk provided in the jug at the table. This was unusual as they normally drink their milk no problem first thing each day, My wife and I therefore both tried the milk and it tasted off/sour. In a polte and discreet manner I asked the waitress if we could have a new jug of milk as it did not taste right. She returned and said the chef wants to know what's wrong with the milk. I replied that it was sour. The waitress then returned with a further jug of milk which tasted fine. A few minutes later the chef/owner of the Limes appeared with the original jug of milk and loudly in front of the other guests asked what was wrong with the milk. I again replied that it was sour. She replied that she had just boiled the milk, it had not curdled and therefore it was not sour!

Needless to say, we were somewhat taken aback by this staggeringly rude and unnecessary approach to customer service. I have never known anything like it. We will not be going back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank 441James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed here for the weekend and the location was perfect, very close to city centre, our room was at the side and was perfect, very roomy and good sized bathroom, we could hear a little road noice but noy enough to spoil our sleep.we like to read the sunday papers before we travel on but there was no lounge to sit in, a very clean place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cags1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#9 of 78 in Chester
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#17 of 78 in Chester
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Garth Guest House
Glen Garth Guest House
#44 of 78 in Chester
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
0.1 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
3.7 mi away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Guest House

Address: 12 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Limes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Guest House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing