We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #22 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed at the Cheltenham Lodge for 6 months and found it extremely comfortable, friendly and homely. Before choosing the Cheltenham Lodge I tried several hotels but after finding the Cheltenham Lodge I stayed. They made me feel so welcome and I would certainly return there if my work takes me to Chester again. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
102
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Travelled to Chester for a family wedding with twin teenage daughters and 6 year old son. Girls room and family room more than adequate. Useful facilities: en-suite, tv/dvd, coffee making. Fresh clean towels. Owner even lent the children dvds to watch. Breakfast was marvellous. Will stay here again and would recommend that you do too.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The room was comfortable and well appointed in a tsyle fitting with the house.
The hotel was within easy walking distance of the station and city.
Although we didn't use the bus service the buses ran every 8 minutes mon to sat and evry thirty minutes on sunday
There are local shops nearby and banks with ATM if needed.
There is plenty to do and see in Chester.
We used it for a base to travel into Liverpool the trains are frequent and reasonable
The room we stayed in was on a busy road, with traffic noise, but we weren't disturbed by this.
There is a restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

A great familey run Guest House, My partner and Myself enjoyed it very much, clean and tidy, Peaceful, and homely,
Thanks Peter & Sally

Helpful?
Thank jenno195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights during a lovely weekend in Chester. I booked this B&B after looking at the reviews on here and was not disappointed! The location is excellent – just a 15 minutes walk into the city centre. The room was just what we wanted – decent size with all the usual mod cons including TV (with freeview), hairdryer, and tea/coffee making facilities. It was all cosy and warm too! Breakfast was fantastic – a choice of a full English, croissants and/or cereal and toast; definitely set us up for the day! The staff couldn’t have been friendlier. There was also free parking. The only down side was that as each time you entered the building, there was a strong smell of smoke which personally wasn’t pleasant. (However, I imagine this is from days past when smoking was more prevalent and ‘allowed’ as I didn’t detect anyone smoking during our stay and doubt this would be ‘allowed’ anymore (??). Anyway, this is a VERY minor detail and didn’t impact on our stay at all). Overall this is a great value B&B and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowderBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltlodge, owner at Cheltenham Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Thank you for your pleasant review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and where happy with the service you received.

Can I apologies for the smell of smoke when you entered the premises. The only reason I can think that this could of happened, as we have always operated strict no smoking policy, is either one of our or neighbouring clients had been smoking outside the front door prior to your arrival, leaving a lingering smell of smoke to enter our premises.

Once again please accept our apologises and be re-assured that we shall be looking into a way that this cannot and will not happen again.

May I take this opportunity in wishing you and your partner a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cheltenham Lodge and Chester in the near future and hope that this will not deter you from returning.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

What can I say? I've stayed in a fair few b&b's in Chester, but the Cheltenham lodge is superior to them all. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Quick walk into town, very handy
Restaurants/shops nearby
all facilities required

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_D_Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#14 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#33 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#8 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing