We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find”
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #22 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After being let down by a certain booking agency I found this b&B on the internet. (They dont use booking agents!). What a lovely find. Lovely room, clean and spacious. Even an iron in the wardrobe. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Owners David and Anne very friendly. I was staying on my own in Chester and I felt very happy here! Only problem when I decided to book the following night they were already full! I will definately book here in future when I am studying in Chester.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltlodge, Owner at Cheltenham Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out that we don’t use booking agents, If you wish to book or check availability with the Cheltenham Lodge in the future, for a more personal service please call us directly by telephone or see bedandbreakfastinchester of which we have our own online booking service which you can book with confidence with our PCI compliant Hotel online Booking service. PCI compliant offers you a safe & secure passage when entering your card details to secure your online booking with the Cheltenham Lodge Bed & breakfast in Chester. Also any special offers are automatically be deducted when press book now.
May I also take this opportunity to wish you a very happy New Year.
Kind regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
104
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very comfortable bedding so had a great night's sleep. Missing some finishing touches but all in all it's nice. Check-in was a bit dysfunctional, however, with me being turned away and told there wasn't a room and then called back 15 minutes later... it sounded like I wasn't the only one this had happened to that day either, so call ahead in advance to make sure your room is confirmed if you want to avoid a panic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grintoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Room comfortable and clean and Ann & David great hosts. Breakfast was excellent and sets you up for the day. Would defiantly recommend and would stay again. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I have spent 5 days here and will definately be coming back next year.

Great location, good size rooms, superb breakfast and great hospitality by both David and Anne. David did make our stay that extra bit better with his charm and friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We was in it on 5 july 2013.
It is a wonderful house, and rooms was really clean.
Parking is free.
Chester centre is at 20 minutes walk.
Breakfast was really good, too.
I strongly suggest it for families, since also the price is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebe_moni_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I had 3 nights at Cheltenham Lodge last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our rooms were spotless, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and very well presented. David made us feel very welcome, was always available and gave us very good advice on tourist options, travel for getting round the city and restaurant choices. A very handy location, 8 mins walk from the Train Station and 15 mins walk to the city or a bus service to the city 2 minutes away at regular intervals. Customer service from both David and Anne was second to none and nothing was a bother at all. We would definitely stay again and strongly recommend to anyone to stay at the Cheltenham Lodge. You will not be disappointed. Thank you David, you made our stay in Chester all we wanted it to be and more.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on back side of the house and views over garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've stayed twice now, first time in Room 4 and second time in Room 5. My only disappointment with Cheltenham Lodge is that they're fully booked for my next stay in September.....How rude! Only kidding, David is very helpful and friendly and Anne is welcoming and warm. I completely agree about the breakfasts...! They take time and pride in what they present to you.

I didn't realise that Room 5 was their premier room so I feel a bit honoured they put me in there! It is huge for just one guy and his suitcase - you do get value for your money for sure! I have actually recommended this B&B to others who come to Chester and am happy to write a review for them....

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are both nice. Room 5 is right on a busy road, but the nicer room in terms of set-up/f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#8 of 79 in Chester
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#18 of 79 in Chester
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#32 of 79 in Chester
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing