We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Cheltenham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheltenham Lodge
Ranked #23 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“weekend break”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

ann and dave made us feel very welcome. Location was on the main rd straight into chester town centre . very good public house across road .Accomodation was brill big family room very clean and en suite bathroom my family would go back without a doubt thanks again ann and dave

Room Tip: family room was very clean and could not here and road noise what so ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demon121175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
102
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

just returned from a weekend break with my sister in laws 3 and what a spotlessly comfortable stay well kept and the breakfast was first class would highly recomend what one person has complained about on here is petty

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I found the stay at the cl quite over bearing in the sense that David will not back off. A lot of reviews are happy with the service but I found it intrusive . You do not get the 'do not disturb' option. I was appalled to find my room had been tidied and soiled underwear had been shook out and placed on a pile of clothes. It is too familiar. We are not visiting friends, we are paying for a room and it should be left that way. I'm not against a friendly smile in the morning but a line needs to be drawn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevortraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltlodge, Owner at Cheltenham Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Madame

Your first written review on trip advisor and I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our service.

I have noticed that you have made no mention of how well maintained, clean and comfortable our rooms and beds were that your mother mentioned to me prior to departure and how I helped you with your luggage to your room.

All hotels and guesthouses have a duty to clean their rooms daily as this is a requirement made by the tourist board. If you don’t want your room tidied all you have to do is say. It would have saved my cleaner the trauma of having to move them (they would not have been shook out), to be able to do her job, clean. We like our guests to come back to a clean and tidy room.

However as you found our service so intrusive I have now implemented for future guests, a notice to hang on the door stating that you do not require the room to be cleaned. I put laundry bags in all of the room for used items of clothing that need to be taken home to be cleaned.

A short note to add to readers.

I am a happy, helpful person who loves his job in the service sector looking after guests, giving them advice during their visit to Chester and my home.

If you don’t require my help, please just say, I won’t be offended in any way.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

With the rain pouring down outside, it was the most comforting thing in the world to be served the most fantastic full cooked breakfast from the charming and cheerful host. Absolutely delicious bacon, sausages and eggs - pride of Chshire. Nothing was too much trouble, and the green tea was especially appreciated. The beds were comfortable, the rooms spacious and were perfectly quiet from the noise of the traffic. Terrific value for money.

Room Tip: The downstairs family room is next to the breakfast room. Bear in mind unless you are early risers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very disappointed - our experience differed from the other trip advisor posts. The room was large but had a musty smell, the beautiful leaded light windows had mildew growing on the inside, to the side of the shower cubicle was disgusting and had not been cleaned for some time. The breakfast was extremely limited and they didn't even have Earl Grey tea. It could be improved with very little additional effort - such a shame as the owners were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltlodge, Owner at Cheltenham Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, however I found it quite a perturbing read. As you quite rightly state it does differ significantly from other reviews and a countless number of comments of happy guests during their stay and as they leave.

All of my rooms are freshly decorated and cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis; this has been noted by the professional hotel inspector from the AA, who each year gives us a through inspection of all of our rooms with out any notice, until their departure the next morning after breakfast.

You are correct we do not carry Earl Gray tea, as we do not personally feel that this is a valued blend of tea. However you would have been offered an alternative tea that milk should not taken with (Green Tea), of which we do stock and is of a better quality. Please understand that we are unable to stock all of the choices of tea that are available, but what we do carry is popular and of good quality. It is hard to cater to everyone’s individual taste.

With the comment of a limited choice of breakfast, I do feel that this is an incorrect comment, for people reading this review please see our new website where you can see our full breakfast menu from a full English breakfast to Scrambled eggs with smoked Salmon or for continental freshly baked croissants & pans au Chocolat with fresh fruit and yoghurt and pictures of the presentation of which the customer was offered and would have received. You will also be able to view pictures of all of our large en suit rooms.

I do wish that you would have mentioned all of your unhappiness during your 2 night stay, either on the 1st morning or even on your departure rather than leaving unhappy.

I do feel that we offer a good standard of service, breakfast and quality of rooms for the price that we charge.

Yours truly
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here, room was spotless and very comfortable, breakfast was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome from the start as Dave met us at the door. Customer service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. Stay again, definitely and would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights over a long weekend and the room, customer service and breakfast were all excellent. The B&B is about 1 mile from Chester city centre and is an easy 15-20 minute walk along Hoole Road.

If you're staying during the week and don't like the sound of traffic in the morning I would recommend requesting a room facing the back of the B&B rather than a room facing the main road.

I would definitely return to this B&B if I stayed in Chester again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#13 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#31 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#7 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Lodge

Property: Cheltenham Lodge
Address: 58 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheltenham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Ann, the owners, have carefully decorated and furnished each of the suites to the highest standards to ensure their guests’ comfort during their stay. The opulent ‘Premier Suite’ goes even further in terms of comfort and luxury, with the very finest materials used throughout - perfect for that special occasion! Contact us directly for the best price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cheltenham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing