We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean and satisfactory rooms, but could do with a refurb.”
Review of Laburnum House

Laburnum House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laburnum House
Ranked #68 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, clean and satisfactory rooms, but could do with a refurb.”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stopped here for three nights.
Following the negative comments from others, I would like to add a few additional notes.
Yes the rooms and bathrooms could do with a refurb. But at present the current owners are looking to sell - hence why they haven't done the work.
I would strongly disagree with the comments that the place was dirty, I think it was cleaned to a good standard.
The service was excellent, the owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and tea / coffee making facilities are provided.
The location is fantastic. Close to town and the train station. I would recommend this to anyone planning a weekend in Chester on a low budget, its a great place to stay and as a simple base it is ideal.
It is obvious when booking this B&B that it is a 'cosy' and basic place to stay. Anyone who is not happy to accept rooms which may be a little dated in decor should avoid Laburnum house and go for the typical Travelodge or Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    9
    9
    15
See reviews for
9
24
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I had planned a trip to Chester Zoo for myself and daughter, this B&B was ideally situated for the Zoo and town. I was given a friendly welcome and keys to No5 a ground floor bedroom with a double and single bed. The room smelt stale probably from the fried food cooked daily from the dining area opposite the room. The bathroom was disgusting: limescale and mould in sink and shower. The glasses and cups obviously had not been cleaned for a while. I complained to the owner , who was very apologetic and had someone attempt to clean the room. In the end i bought bleach from Somerfield and cleaned everything myself. Breakfast was fried and once again, the glasses, cups, coffee pot was grubby. Unfortunately i had paid upfront for the 2 nights. Or i would have went elsewhere.

.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkin015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

For the reasonable price this place was OK and the welcome was friendly enough but this could not make up for the fact that our room was tiny and dingy, the bathroom was pretty hideous and the whole house smelt of fried food! Being so close to the city was great, we could walk everywhere but it was also noisy. Breakfast was OK but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1vicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

My stay was wonderful. Hostess met me at station, breakfasts were free range and plentiful - good star to the day. It is 10 mins walk to City walls and centre. Cosy. I cannot agree with the bad feedback left by others it is most unfair. This must be the best all round. So near everything. I'm planning a return visit if there is room

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyarmylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Awful room, abysmal ensuite facilities and situated in the middle of busy roads and car parks. The friendly greeting and nice hosts couldn't mask the fact that the place needs either modernising or knocking down, i'd recommend the latter. Probably the worst place i've stayed in and i've been to Belarus and Russia!!! Parking is a joke too, i can't help but think the top reviews on this site have been done by the owners and or friends. Never a 3 star in a million years, more like 1.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bantam1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

The location is very good but unfortunately the quality of the accommodation is poor.
The double bedroom was very small and the en-suite shower room is in urgent need of updating. The quality of the cleaning was below standard.
We would not recommended Laburnum House.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_nut001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Great place, lovely room, great location and most friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts... Highly recommend. Thanks Russell & Co!

  • Liked — Location, hosts, breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70sPinkFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#35 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#10 of 25 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#38 of 79 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House

Property: Laburnum House
Address: 2 St. Anne Street, Chester CH1 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing