We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value lunch”
Review of La P'tite France

La P'tite France
Ranked #3 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: French Café-Bistro in the heart of Chester. Open for lunch, afternoon, Friday and Saturday night
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Excellent value lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Called in for lunch and ate from the menu de jour. I had the pork, my wife had the sea bass - really authentic food, very well cooked and full of flavour.
We even had room for pud - a crème Brule and a trio of desserts.- both excellent.
The service was great - friendly and attentive - we will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank toby187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    92
    18
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

On a recent trip to Chester I discovered a little nugget of French gold amongst the rather average places to eat.
La P'tite France has only been open about 3 months but the french patron and his wife, together with a French waitress have managed to capture the air of a well established restaurant in a French provincial town.
Fresh ingredients, cooked with care and generously portioned.
The food was excellent and a particular delight was the cheeseboard.
I would not hesitate to eat there again in the event that I was in Chester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A calm oasis in the midst of race night madness”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a lovely meal - the food was authentic and delicious, the owner and staff attentive and friendly - we ate the mussels and vol au vent for starter both of which were excellent then moved onto the sea bass and duck ....just divine....We ate fairly early but the atmosphere was still good and gave us an opportunity to talk to the owner who was charming and interested in us ...to the point that he recommended some places to eat near our home town ...and even helped us out with a contact for French lessons! highly recommend it on all levels

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chester00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really lovely dinner evoking childhood holiday memories! ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely authentic french cuisine! Very tasty well cooked and seasoned food and excellent wines- someone in the kitchen is seriously good at making sauces!! This is a small restaurant so do book in advance as very popular. Really felt like you were in a small bistro in the middle of France! Good location and ideal for evening meal as near taxi rank at bottom of Bridge street. Really lovely attentive waiting staff and owner- we will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank AWoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent find based on the reviews of other diners”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Delightful atmosphere, lovely food, and excellent professional service. The restaurant was full soon after our arrival but the staff maintained their calm manner as they served each table. Dishes were served quickly and there was no delay between courses. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La P'tite France also viewed

 

Been to La P'tite France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing