We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Ranked #5 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were finding it hard to find somewhere to stay in Chester and ended up here. I think the rest of the guest house is of a higher standard but our room on the ground-floor was very small and basic. Fan in the bathroom was nosy and the toilet had a mascerator which likely would wake the whole building in the middle of the night. There was noise from the street and guests arriving late would ring the front-door bell. I must say though that all of this was pointed out to us before we brought our bags in. The host was also very helpful in recommending somewhere to eat and things to do around the town. But once the night settled down we ended up having a good sleep in a warm room, which was all we needed really. The hotel was well located - everything just a short walk away. Breakfast was very nice - the host was more than keen for us to eat eat eat, but again the dining room was fairly basic. Inexpensive but basic - ok if that's all you need.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor-Place-Mgmt, Owner at Grosvenor Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for your review - as you pointed out in your review, you stayed in our ground floor double room which was the only room that we had left on the Saturday night that you stayed. Its a room that offers people who want to stay in Chester city centre but have accessibility issues a ground floor option or alternatively its also a budget option room as its ground floor, smaller and more basic than our other rooms. Nonetheless, it still benefits from a bed with a luxury standard mattress and high quality bedding and linen as well as our superb quality full English breakfast!

Guests normally do not ring the front door bell late at night as everyone has keys but if this happened when you stayed we apologise for the disruption. With respect to the macerator in the toilet and the bathroom fan, they are relatively new and not any more noisey than any other saniflow toilet or bathroom fan and with the high ceilings in the guest house and insulated floors it would not be heard elsewhere in the guest house.

I think that in your case, you were looking for a quiet night in and so this room on a Saturday night did not fit the bill but probably would have had you stayed any other night of the week!

We wish you well on the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 307 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

the grosvenor place is a well situated excellent value for money guest house with a pleasant accommodating helpful host .nice breakfast with unlimited toast cereal coffee/tea and juice.would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a really nice little place great location and a great city to see and would come back in the summer. Staff are very helpful about information about the city which is good. Was surprised how clean the room was and would have no problem going back again which i hope to do next summer with my wife.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrthomaslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

just spent 2 more nights at Grosvenor place and once again excellent food,very friendly and helpful,thanks again Ann and Russ. Handy for all attractions,just a short walk to amenities. Quiet ,neat and tidy and owners so very pleasant,what more can you ask for? We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rikki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Finding the guest house was very easy when we arrived in Chester and the location is within a few minutes of the centre of Chester and the Grosvenor shopping centre. Parking is very close and reasonably priced at £5 per day. We parked at the County Court car park, which is fine at weekends but becomes a staff car park during the week. one thing to be aware of is that the parking is for a day or part of it and not for 24 hours, so you need to be out by 7:30am or pay for another day as we did.
The guest house is clean and staff are very helpful and friendly. the only downside was that our room was next to the front entrance and is a little cramped and noisy when other guests return in the early hours. However, this did not spoil our visit and we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return in the future.
The location is definitely the strong point here for either shopping or if visiting the races.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is a little cramped and can be noisy. Our friends stayed in the room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Grosvenor Place Guest House is a quality place to stay! A few moments walk from the centre of town, it has ample parking space and is easy to find. My room was very nice, good taste in decor, a large comfortable bed, wall mounted TV and clean, hygenic bathroom facilities. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to order at a negotiable time. My hosts were very hospitable and welcoming, taking great care to ensure I settled well. Overall, a very pleasureable experience and most importantly excellent value for money! Should I need to stay in Chester again, the Grosvenor Place Guest House will be my priority place to stay! Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at Grosvenor Place B&B with my husband and son. We visited Chester to celebrate our son's 30th Birthday. Grosvenor Place is a bed and breakfast establishment but we were made to feel at home by the owner Stephan. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable. Our son had a single room at the top of the house - For a single room it was very spacious and light and the shower room large and my son said was equipped with a power shower. We travelled by car to Chester but wanted to leave the car and see the City, Stephan arranged for us to park the car outside the B&B which was so convenient and for a nominal fee of £5. Stephan informed us that there were good bus services around the city and on purchase from the bus driver an all day ticket was available, although everything we could ever want was within minutes walking distance from the Guest House. We lunched at the Grosvenor Hotel - a few minutes walk from the B&B - the meal was expensive but delicious - so much so that we dined again on the second day!!
We had a lovely experience in Chester and It was made even better by the service and welcome we received from Stephan and his staff, we cannot recommend this too highly..
Thank you Stephan..
Diane from Leeds

Room Tip: The rooms were both well maintained, the beds were large and very comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 135Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Chester House Guest House
1.1 mi away
Stone Villa Chester
Stone Villa Chester
#2 of 76 in Chester
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Place Guest House

Address: 2 Grosvenor Place, Chester CH1 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Place is a Georgian town house set within the City Walls right in the heart of Chester.Our location could not be any better as we are the closest B&B to the city centre with no more than a 5 minute walk to all of the key attractions in Chester including the race course!The guest house has recently been lovingly restored to combine Georgian charm with all the modern comforts. With our luxury beds, deep bounce back pillows and duvets and crisp satin stripe bedding – we aim to deliver on affordable luxury. We source Cheshire local products and services wherever possible and this extends to our delicious full English breakfasts! Which include fabulous sausages and dry cured bacon from Cheshire bred pigs, local free range eggs, Cheshire tomatoes and mushrooms accompanied by beans to finish off your full English breakfast served with tea or fresh coffee served in a cafetiere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Place Guest House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing