We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Ranked #8 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owner was very welcoming and knowledgeable of Chester and showed a passion in his business.The room was small but very adequate modern and very clean.The breakfast was good. it is nicely positioned a few yards from the town center.. All in all my wife and I had a very nice stay and would without hesitation recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavinio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    63
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
144
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night over the weekend. When we arrived we were met by the smiling owner who was very helpful. Considering his wife gave birth a few days before i was shocked at how awake he was let alone helpful.
The owner talked us through a map of the local area and where the good places were to go. He also helped with our parking situation.
When we arrived 15 minutes late for breakfast we went downstairs expecting to only get cereal but we were offered everything which again was fantastic.
Would stay here everytime if we go back to Chester.
Thanks Andy & Julie Robin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyrobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed to stay here and especially the breakfast.
So nice cold cuts really.

Location is really everything we can expect.

For sure if you go there you will not waste your money!
Thank you very much to all the team and mr Stephane to take care of us like you did!

Very clean, very good, very close to everything..... What else?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Wow! One simple word says it all. The welcome, the room, the HUGE bed, the food and most of all the friendliness of Stephan (unfortunately we did not get to meet Adelaid due to illness). Much advice and plenty of recommendations were given. Found two wonderful places to eat. So close to the Welsh border too so was able to meet up with a great friend for the day. The shopping and sightseeing is fantastic. The guest house couldnt have been more convenient. It was superbly clean and accommodation. We even had a room with twin aspects. Couldnt fault other than we could only stay three days. Will DEFINITELY be recommending and coming back again. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Room Five!!! Unless you cannot travel up to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed over for one night to attend 40th birthday party. Clean, friendly and great location with excellent full english - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed here recently and very much enjoyed my stay. The B and B is very well located, within the city walls and close to all the shops and bars. The owners were fantastic- friendly, helpful and obliging. The cooked breakfast was tasty and filling and the bed was top notch, slept very well. My slight negatives would be that our room was small and the bathroom tiny, though it was such great value for money we can't complain. We would definetly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Grosvenor Place for two nights as we were going to a wedding in the area. Adelaide our landlady was very friendly and helpful(I had a number of enquiries prior to our trip and she was prompt in her replies and made useful suggestions). The guest house is a lovely Georgian house, it is very clean, contemporary and comfortable. The location is fantastic - minutes to the town centre. Our rooms were good with comfortable beds, good quality linens, plasma TVs and refreshment tray. The towels were large and soft. My only minor feedback is the socket for the hair dryer and my straighteners isn't near to a mirror but some small mirrors would easily solve that. Adelaide recommended a gorgeous Italian restaurant Bollocino for our first evening. The breakfast on both mornings was the full English, with cereals, juice and toast too. Good quality and well cooked. Adelaide's husband(Stephan?) was also friendly and helpful. We will return.

Room Tip: My room(2) was lovely with lovely stained glass windows and spacious too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Place Guest House

Property: Grosvenor Place Guest House
Address: 2 Grosvenor Place, Chester CH1 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Place is a Georgian town house set within the City Walls right in the heart of Chester.Our location could not be any better as we are the closest B&B to the city centre with no more than a 5 minute walk to all of the key attractions in Chester including the race course!The guest house has recently been lovingly restored to combine Georgian charm with all the modern comforts. With our luxury beds, deep bounce back pillows and duvets and crisp satin stripe bedding – we aim to deliver on affordable luxury. We source Cheshire local products and services wherever possible and this extends to our delicious full English breakfasts! Which include fabulous sausages and dry cured bacon from Cheshire bred pigs, local free range eggs, Cheshire tomatoes and mushrooms accompanied by beans to finish off your full English breakfast served with tea or fresh coffee served in a cafetiere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Place Guest House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing