We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Villa Chester
Ranked #2 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Arrived on a wet Friday afternoon,after a five and half hour journey, to a warm welcome of tea and cake - wonderful. Our room was lovely it had every amenity that you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Dave and Kirsty - from recommendations for restaurants, directions, ordering taxis and a genuine interest in you. Breakfast was a real treat, plenty of choice, beautifully cooked and presented. Can't recommend a stay here more highly.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Anne We thank you so much for your lovely review, we try hard to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be and we are delighted you had a successful trip. Kirsty & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Stone Villa on Thursday evening. It is a great location, room was large and very clean and comfortable. David and Kirsty were very welcoming and helped plan our day in Chester. They also recommended a lovely restaurant called Sticky Walnut which is a five minute walk away. Breakfast was great and we would definitely stay at Stone Villa again. Thanks

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NikkiB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Nikki, What a lovely review, thank you. Stone Villa is all about experiencing the whole package, and we are doubly delighted that our restaurant suggestion was a hit.. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The B&B was ideally situated to explore Chester 10 minute walk from the city centre. The welcome we received was better than any 3/4 star hotel, we were given tea and cake on arrival and a complimentary sherry. The room had all you required and the breakfast was first class. We will go there again. Takes customer care to a new level.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi John Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are delighted that the Stone Villa proposition was what you were looking for and we look forward to looking after you again soon. many thanks Dave & Kirsty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the 2nd February to celebrate his 50th birthday.. We stayed in room 1 (of ten rooms) on the ground floor..Paul booked us in.. and explained the room had just been redecorated ..and as we unpacked we noticed it had lots of things to make the guests stay comfortable including... a mini fridge, hair drier, safe, fan, Iron and mini Ironing board. The bathroom I think was due to be redecorated... as we both felt it looked a little tired, although had plenty of quality bath and beauty products..after a night out we turned in for the night around half past 10..it soon became apparent the guest above was wide a wake... as we could hear them doing what we assumed was an exercise routine... which we could clearly hear until 11.45pm with thumps, bumps and creaking floor boards!! Next morning we sat down to an excellent breakfast of fresh fruits, cereals and pastries, the full cooked English was excellent quality..shortly after breakfast we checked out, paying direct to the hotel to save them the charges of internet sites (As we also booked direct) we mentioned to the owner Paul how we had enjoyed our stay, except the creaking floors in the room above, and he did explain as the B & B is not purpose built, it would be difficult to screw down the floorboards in the above room as it may endanger any pipes bellow... but he had used an extra thick underlay under the carpets..we would be happy to stay here again, but would book an upstairs room, I think when I telephoned to book.. we were offered room 9..if that was an upstairs room our stay would have been an excellent memory of our special stay..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m8kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Many thanks Kate for taking the time to write a review on Stone Villa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay- Clearly having just spent several thousand pounds on refurbishing Room 1 we are more than disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as it might have been and we apologise for the nocturnal activities of the other guest. I guess one of the issues associated with beautiful buildings from the 19th century is that they do not enjoy the concrete floors of the less attractive purpose built hotels. We have not had any other negative comments regarding bathrooms, so maybe it was the quality of the room appearance that made the bathroom feel less special. Again we apologise for our noisy guest. As readers will see from other reviews it is an infrequent complaint. Thanks again for the review. Dave and Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Well what can I say.....this was my first time going away on my own for a shopping trip..arrived at the guesthouse the hosts were lovely there and gave me a warm welcome throughout my stay.My bedroom was the best!..couldn't have asked for more really,the breakfast was a choice of fruit juices..fruit...continental..and a menu of a full breakfasts which filled you up throughout the day..round the corner a few pubs..shops...and anything you need really within 5 mins of walking...so glad I booked my stay here and have rebooked to go back to Cheshire oaks!fantastic shopping place to be and a great day out....cant wait to return!!!

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor was quiet enough for me and the room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review it means the world to us, and we are both so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Until next time..... Thanks Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station and a leisurely 20 minute stroll to the Cathedral and centre of Chester. Very easy and quick check in, your hosts Dave and Kirsty do everything to make sure your stay is as pleasant and stress free as possible from the moment you arrive until you leave. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with spacious en-suite bathrooms. Room facilities include a 32" TV with freeview, coffee/tea and biscuits, a fridge stocked with free bottled water and complimentary high speed wi-fi. Breakfast, served 7-9am weekdays and 8-10am weekends, could not be better. Full range of fruit juices, cereals and fruits in a buffet. Choice of freshly prepared cooked breakfasts with lashings of hot buttery toast and coffee on tap. Impossible to find any fault here. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I was in Room 8 'The Foregate', giving me a view to the front of the house. The quality was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you Stuart. This is a great review and we are delighted your first review was of Stone Villa, and that your experience was so good. It just motivates us both to keep trying harder. Thanks Kirsty & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Although I use tripadvisor to make booking selections, I have never use it to write a review. After visiting Stone Villa I was so impressed that I thought I needed to. We had a brilliant weekend in a beautiful room, taken care of by excellent hosts. Food, hospitality and comfort were all excellent.
The locality to great pubs and food(The Faulkener) was very handy which meant driving or taxis were not necessary.
We will return for sure in the summer and I will not be looking for anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFlav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

With enormous thanks for making Stone Villa, your first review! We are delighted you enjoyed your trip and took the time to tell others. This makes a huge difference to us and we thank you again. Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,534 reviews
1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Villa Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Villa Chester

Address: 3 Stone Place, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $110 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stone Villa Chester 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Villa is situated in a prime position in a quiet cul-de-sac only 50 yards from the main approach road (A56) into Chester. Stone Villa offers a very high standard of accommodation. We have two grades of rooms Standard and Executive. There are 3 ground floor rooms and wheelchair access.Every effort has been made to make your stay most comfortable in this completely refurbished establishment.Stone Villa's breakfasts are second to none and served in our large breakfast room.We have a walled floodlit car-park at the front of the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Stone Villa Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Stone Villa Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing