We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay when visiting Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester Stone Villa
Ranked #2 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to stay when visiting Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at Stone Villa last week, when visiting Chester for the first time on our way to a family wedding in the Lake District. Our hosts, Dave and Kirsty, could not have been more helpful - even tea/coffee and a slice of gateau on our arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Breakfast at this B & B was good. Although about a 10-15 minute walk from the Centre of the Old City within the Roman Walls, there are nice local pubs and restaurants that our hosts directed us too. Plus a taxi to the hotel, if you have exhausted yourself walking the walls, only costs a few pounds.
When we return will return to stay here too

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiggyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
That is really nice thank you We are delighted your brief stop off was a success and we look forward to your company again. Kirsty & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    46
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
127
636
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Well we have just come back from two nights at Stone Villa and the service was excellent, warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble. Accommodation is of a high standard as there are many extras in the room and a good size bathroom. The breakfast was a good experience, well presented and a high quality. Location is good for Chester as well and the only concern we had was the parking is very tight at the hotel. I'm not saying they haven't done there best with the space available it just difficult to manoeuvre I and out. That all said we would definitely go back and recomment Stone Villa to anyone, it has a real home from home feeling and they go the extra mile for their customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Chris, Many thanks for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Parking - always a good subject! We have ensured there is a space for every room at Stone Villa, and made a very significant investment in September 2013 to get us there. The option was to have fewer than enough spaces and make it easier to manoeuvre, We chose to have enough spaces, but everything does depend on all our clients parking considerately. It does all work, and if needed we are happy to valet park the car for clients too. The main thing is that we do have a space for all - a rare commodity in businesses of our type. Thanks again Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Seeming to spend my working life in hotels, I know a good place when I stay at one :)
Dave and Kirsty know exactly what is needed in the way of hospitality, cleanliness and quality - and they deliver.
Winning points for me were - dedicated parking, room details - good hospitality tray, decent toiletries, bottled water, free wifi.
And from my tummy's perspective - the fantastic porridge with honey, cream and drambuie!
Thank you Dave and Kirsty.
Rachel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-from-england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Karen! We very much look forward to seeing you again, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Happy New Year. Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trewern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lovely reception and greeting from our host and welcoming entrance. The room was a comfortable temperature and beautifully decorated (room 6- Northgate) and to did not miss a trick with the extras as much thought and care was put to convenience for the guests. The bedding is and pillows are superb! Breakfast is filling and full of choice and the entire home spotless.
Will definitely see Kirsty and Dave again and look to them both for excellent recommendations in the city. Many thanks to them and their staff.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a double bed and a twin bed with plenty of room. Could hear the man snoring and a bit of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Karen, many thanks for a lovely review, we would be delighted to see you again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank You Dave &Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent a very comfortable and relaxed couple of nights at stone villa. Nothing was too much trouble, easy to get into the city, convenient for the station and a buzzing little community nearby in Faulkener Rd, Hoole. Dave and Kirsty were helpful about where to eat in the evening and the breakfast was terrific.
We would definitely stay another time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you Mary, we are delighted to have hit the spot for you. We will be sure not to become complacent with all the nice comments you and others are making, so hopefully we will find a way to surpass your experience next time. Thanks Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We opted to stay here for a short pre-xmas break, and we were not disappointed. Normally we select a hotel closer to the city, but decided to select the Stone Villa based on previous reviews. The owners made us feel very welcome and we were shown to our immaculate room which had flat screen TV, Wi-Fi (and docking station) and the usual tea and coffee, with the added bonus of a fridge and bottled water.

The major selling point of the owners was the breakfast, a wide rage of food was available including a full veggie breakfast and breakfast specials.

This place is a B&B in name only and is more like a Boutique Hotel. The service, staff and rooms would put many top chain hotels to shame.

Although it is advertised as a 15 min walk to the town center in reality you pass many shops on the way into town which was part of the enjoyment.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very spacious with a very hot and powerful shower. Very quiet at night as it looks onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
So many thanks for your kind comments - we are so pleased you feel we have got to Boutique Hotel status. We are certainly trying hard to make sure the experience is the best we can and we are glad you enjoyed it. Thank you Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. The service is superb and the staff make you feel so welcome. The breakfast was fantastic.
There is parking there and its not too far to walk into Chester.
We were greeted on arrival with coffee and homemade cake, and nothing was too much trouble.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much Julie, we would love to see you again too. We are so pleased the Stone Villa hit the spot for you - we will keep working on all aspects - so hopefully even better next time. Thanks Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Stone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Stone Villa

Property: Chester Stone Villa
Address: 3 Stone Place, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chester Stone Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Villa is situated in a prime position in a quiet cul-de-sac only 50 yards from the main approach road (A56) into Chester. Stone Villa offers a very high standard of accommodation. We have two grades of rooms Standard and Executive. There are 3 ground floor rooms and wheelchair access.Every effort has been made to make your stay most comfortable in this completely refurbished establishment.Stone Villa's breakfasts are second to none and served in our large breakfast room.We have a walled floodlit car-park at the front of the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chester Stone Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Stone Villa Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing