We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Villa Chester
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$121
$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
$141
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveler rating
1,105
57
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
57
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and cakedave kirstyb bon arrivalquiet cul de sacfresh milk in the fridgeporridgefull englishperfect hostsbreakfast was deliciouscity centrelittle touchescomplimentary watermini fridgeguest houselovely touchminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a triple room for me, my sister and my mum. We all enjoyed our one-night stay and would definitely stay there again. Very welcoming, pleasant and helpful staff (welcomed with tea and yummy cake!). We were able to leave our luggage after checkout (which helped us do more shopping!). Lovely breakfast, a good choice of items and quality foods too. Comfortable room, well equipped. Small fridge in the room with complimentary mineral water. Clean bathroom with nice toiletries. Not far from the city centre in a pleasant leafy area with shops, banks, eateries etc., nearby. Great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and lovely words. We are motivated so much by positive reviews to keep improving the service and we will be adding other new things to Stone Villa in the next couple of weeks. Thanks again. Kirsty & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at various hotels in Chester in the past and decided on this visit to try a B@B. We stayed at Stone Villa on the weekend of June 21st 2013, and we were not disappointed . Dave and Kirsty were excellent hosts and even had coffee and cake waiting for us on arrival. The room was spacious and clean and had everything you would require even a fridge. The breakfast was excellent and very filling and we would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcarsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it is good to be bench marked - we are competitive and we know you have a choice of where to stay. Our view at Stone Villa is to strive to offer the best we can and we will keep aiming high. Thanks again Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great stay - a very welcoming, friendly B & B - also great location. We would not stay anywhere else if returning to Chester.
Everything from breakfast to the room was faultless. We noticed a
mixture of families with young children to older couples - and everyone was catered for perfectly. The little touches were great - loved the piece of cake on arrival!! and the chocolates in the room just show the lengths they go to - to ensure a stay which feels special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytripper105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thanks for taking time out to review us, it is appreciated. We are delighted you had a great stay and we hope to see you again. Kirsty & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at Manchester airport, hired a car and was at the Stone Villa in less than 1 hour.

This is a bed and breakfast in a suburban setting on the periphery of Chester amongst many other hotels and B&Bs.

We stayed 5 nights in a small double bedroom which was very clean with a window that can be opened and overlooked the neighbouring houses.

The bathroom is large, newly built and therefore all modern plumbing, a window that can be opened, a fan that starts when the light is switched on and the luxury of a towel warmer. There is a step into the bath to access a good shower with a clean shower curtain.

We are seasoned travellers and therefore prone to become jaded. My wife said twice, "this is the best breakfast in the world!". Enough said, the breakfast is 10 out of 10.

The owners and your hosts are Dave and Kirsty, hard working, very friendly and they ensure your stay is enjoyable. They displayed the "No Vacancies" sign each night we were there.

We stayed here as a hub for day driving trips into North Wales and Cheshire. Dave explained, and wrote out a detailed itinerary each morning for 4 separate day trips, highlighting for us the sights to see, and suggesting where to have lunch. Dave, they are great trips and we enjoyed them MUCH. MANY THANKS.

Would we stay here again? Yes.

However, if your itinerary is a shorter visit to Chester and focusing on walking in Chester you should check out accommodation closer into the town center. A walk from this property to Chester cathedral is about 30 minutes (we were told by other travellers, we didn't do it).

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thanks Nigel, it was great fun designing those days out and I am glad you got the max out of your stay in Chester. We thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write us a review. All the best Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything you'd expect from a great Bed and breakfast. A nice quiet location within a short walk to the city centre. An ideal base for visiting North Wales Liverpool and Chester zoo. I was greeted with a pot of coffee and cake and shown to my room which was ample,clean and filled with many extras including a fridge and a safe. The bed was big and comfortable. Plenty of plug points for charging phone laptop camera etc. Breakfast was always cooked to perfection and plenty of choice too. Finally the hosts made you feel like you were welcome and not just a number. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their local knowledge was extremely welcome. The bathroom and shower were large,clean and well stocked with everything you could need. I would not hesitate to recommend Stone Villa to anybody and feel confident that they would enjoy their time there as much as I did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Stone Villa Chester, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank so much Steve for your review of Stone Villa. You had a great few days of weather in Chester and we know you explored widely around the area. We are pleased that your accommodation was of the standard you were looking for and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks Dave & Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews