We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Stone Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chester Stone Villa
Ranked #1 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is tucked away, but, 10 minutes walk from Chester city centre. There are plenty of taxis if you prefer to commute to & from the hotel.

It doesn't have a bar or restaurant but it totally makes up for it in the privacy & comfort of the rooms, which are decorated to a high standard. The breakfast is exceptionally better than I have experienced in hotels that boast 4 stars!!

The welcome is wonderful, Dave & Kirsty were fabulous hosts they couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing. It is without doubt excellent value for money (personally, I couldn't believe how inexpensive it was!) I wish them the best of luck because they deserve it, lots of hard work has gone into making this a fabulous place to stay. I know where I'll be booking into when I'm next in Chester. J & S Penny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and we are so pleased your stay went well. We work hard to ensure every guest receives exactly what they need and your review helps keep us on the right course. Thanks Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    46
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
616
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This guest house was everything it purported to be: clean, comfortable, close to the city, with excellent facilities. What a choice there was for breakfast! The tea and carrot cake on arrival was unexpected and absolutely divine. The owners could not have been more welcoming or helpful. They printed off bus timetables for us and a map and recommended eating places for two evenings - both of which were absolutely superb. There were six of us and it was very useful to have a lounge in which we could all congregate before going out and when we came back last thing at night. I'm pretty sure one of our couples is already planning a return trip with other friends and I know that we shall stay here if we are in this part of the world again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review, and comments. We are delighted you all enjoyed the stay, and we look forward to seeing you all again. Thanks Again, Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull management. Excellant rooms and breaffast, we cannot praise the experience enough. The welcome tea and cake was a nice touch, so much so that I had a second slice of homemade carrot cake. The location means that there is easy walking or bus access to the City. Wifi reception in the front rooms is a bit hit or miss but this is mainly due to the building construction which is very solid. The owner recommended some excellent eating places including a Turkish restauant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionalan177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review, your comments are very kind and we are delighted that you had a successful trip. We will continue to work hard to maintain and improve standards. Thanks Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Easter Weekend. We received a lovely welcome and had great service from the owners during our stay at Stone Villa. The house looks great from the outside and in and there is a large off road car park at the front. The room was lovely, well decorated, spacious, comfortable and included everything we could need including hairdryer, iron, safe, toiletries etc. The food was fantastic with a great range available for breakfast and it was excellent quality and cooked to order. We came and went as we pleased and it felt more like a hotel with that little bit extra. I'd recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay again. It was Easter weekend and there was a lovely display of Easter chocolates in the lounge - nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandSallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonevilla, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We had a great Easter, and were busy the whole time, with such a lovely atmosphere around the place. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and thank you so much for your review. It really means a lot to us. Thanks Kirsty and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

As an IT contractor working in Chester, i have probably tried most of the hotels in and around Chester. Since staying at Stone Villa i haven't stayed anywhere else. My weekly visits are fast becoming a highlight in my working week.

Stone Villa has recently been taken over by a new family and to say they are warm and welcoming is an understatement, week by week improvements are being made to the Hotel as Kirsty and Dave really make their mark, they are soo accommodating and really go out of their way to ensure your stay is a great one. From arrival to departure the rooms are lovely and very comfortable with a number of them being re-decorated/re-furnished (the rooms yet untouched by the new owners are also a pleasure to reside in) to a very high standard.

I can find no negatives for this gem of a Hotel and will continue to stay there until my contract is up, would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EN1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonevilla, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank You. Your words mean the world to us - we are delighted to welcome clients back to Stone Villa, and we will keep pushing the standards as hard as we can. Thank You Dave & Kirsty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very welcoming and offered to keep our overnight bags while we went shopping as we arrived early. Lovely cup of tea on arrival with a piece of homemade cake which we ate in the lounge. The room was lovely, super decor throughout with lots of little extras which was an added bonus. Looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank horton96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonevilla, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, and lovely comments. We try hard to offer the best we can and it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback. We will keep working hard to improve every day. Thanks Again Kirsty & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our trip was for our wedding anniversary and we received a lovely card from the proprietors. This just about sums up what this establishment is all about. Effortlessly friendly,courteous and helpful. The owners were always on hand to help with any problem or to give advice about the local area. The sunny bedroom was fabulous with a large window and had all the facilities you could think of. The house feels more like an hotel than a bed and breakfast - you do not feel as though you are sleeping in someone's spare room here. Breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit and an array of cereals as well as cooked breakfast which was delicious. The tea and cake on arrival was very much appreciated.
Stone Villa is on a side road just off Hoole Road where there are lots of hotels. Stone Villa is one of the nearest to town. There is a large car park and also an overflow car park if necessary. There are only two things which would make it idyllic. A garden (though there are chairs and tables at the front entrance) and the rather dismal walk into town when it's cold and rainy. I knew about both these things before booking and the owners cannot do anything about either,so Stone Villa gets 5 stars from me and we would love to return one day.
Just a note about the zoo. You can get reduced price tickets from the tourist information centre in town. Also, as the price of food is notoriously high in the zoo, we bought sandwiches and snacks from the nearby Morrisons. Stone Villa is ideally situated for both - it only takes a few minutes to make a detour to the supermarket.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are quiet and sunny in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonevilla, Owner at Chester Stone Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We thank you for your lovely review, and we are delighted youe special weekend was a success. Our aim is to provide the highest possible standards and we will continue to do our best to ensure all our guests enjoy their time at Stone Villa. Thanks Again, Dave & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Stone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Stone Villa

Property: Chester Stone Villa
Address: 3 Stone Place, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chester Stone Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Villa is situated in a prime position in a quiet cul-de-sac only 50 yards from the main approach road (A56) into Chester. Stone Villa offers a very high standard of accommodation. We have two grades of rooms Standard and Executive. There are 3 ground floor rooms and wheelchair access.Every effort has been made to make your stay most comfortable in this completely refurbished establishment.Stone Villa's breakfasts are second to none and served in our large breakfast room.We have a walled floodlit car-park at the front of the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chester Stone Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Stone Villa Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing