We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Bawn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bawn Lodge
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at Bawn Lodge,for one night
good reasonably priced hotel, a short taxi ride away from centre.
rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, and were very clean.
the bar downstairs had a good atmosphere and drinks were reasonable,
breakfast was cooked to order, portions a little small and service was slow,only one staff member on,
this was the only, negative otherwise good base for Chester.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    87
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
133
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

One night stay.
Nice pub downstairs.
Parking was good at rear of the building.
Room was fine, basic but clean and tidy.
Breakfast was okay the next morning but could maybe offer two sausages and bacon as not everybody likes cornflakes etc.
Id stay again so a tick from me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four (2 kids aged 7 and 9) just for one night and had a family room with a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. If you are looking for a boutique designer chic hotel this is not the place for you, but the room was a decent size, clean and comfortable, and we paid £85 for the room plus breakfast. In particular, the staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating. The bar itself is bustling, again very friendly, efficient staff - they even made milkshakes to order for our two kids! Plenty of parking and a good location for walking to the local shops/bars/pubs in Hoole, or about 10-15 mins to Chester town centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just went for a drink but ended uo spending the whole evening. Very comfy great atmosphere!
Will go back again soon
We had two bottles of wine as we felt very comfortable and didnt want to bother going anywhere else I certainly recommend the lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank logistion350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just got back from 2 night stay at Bawn Lodge. Only booked week before we went and got an offer of 2 nights twin room with breakfast for £100. Well worth what we paid. Room and bathroom looked as if they had been recently been refurbished and couldn't fault them. Breakfast wasn't anything special but was ok. 15 minute walk into Chester which was ok as weather was cold but fine and we enjoyed the wailk. 2nd night we went to the Shanghai restaurant a few doors down which was a fantastic meal. We also found some nice pubs down Faulkner street which is just opposite the Bawn Lodge so saved the walk into Chester again. Staff were very freindly and we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We looked over carpark at rear. Bar open till midnight at weekend and we could hear noise from bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the Bawn for 6 months whilst working in Chester.
I can only say that the management & staff are tip top, always pleasant, friendly and courteous with nothing being too much trouble for them!
The bar is friendly and the food is excellent and reasonably priced with something to suit all tastes.
If I return to work in Chester The Bawn Lodge would be my first choice when looking for a place to stay !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Could,nt fault the place staff really friendly room was very clean bathroom was spotless and food was excellent. It was a really good value for money base ,for exploring the sites of chester .would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room was facing main road but it was,nt a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith1300gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawn Lodge

Property: Bawn Lodge
Address: 10 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bawn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bawn Lodge is a family run hotel and bar situated in Hoole, Chester. It is perfectly situated close to the city centre with easy links to the M53, M56 and M6 motorways. With prices starting from £50 the Bawn Lodge offers the ideal opportunity to see Chester in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bawn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawn Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing