We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Bawn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bawn Lodge
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Staying in Chester for our second night and decided to book a table for dinner,as it was race day was a good idea. Everything pretty busy. Was served by the delightful Alex who took our meal and drink orders. Food was good service very good,bar was extremely busy, received our meals fairly quickly considering how busy they were. Would return and also recommend to friends....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Bawn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night. We were initially told we could have two rooms that each slept 3 and would be £30 each. Then we got a phonecall saying could we split into three rooms of two but the price would stay the same. Fine. Stayed over. Breakfast great etc. Came to pay and there was massive confusion from the woman who took our money. She counted it about ten times.........she was run off her feet as she was also the cook and the cleaner. Payed our bar bill from the previous night after being told mine was £18. Next day my sister in law who organised the trip got a phonecall (as shes putting her kids to bed) saying we still owed £10 on my bar bill as I had only paid £4 of it?! Bawn lodge I think you need a calculator and more staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at Bawn lodge with 3 other guests for 2nights during August 2013 for a trip to the races. The staff were friendly & helpful, the rooms had been modernised & were decorated/maintained to a high standard. The breakfast was lovely & the experience we had there overall was pleasant. I would return to Bawn Lodge & I found the area to be nice and welcoming, the locals were friendly & the accommodation is located within 20 mins walk of Chester centre.

The only points I would make on a negative note would be that on arrival/check in you have to enter through the bar area which is very busy at weekends-if this could be improved I am sure customers would prefer to check in & go straight to the room rather than carrying their luggage through a busy bar.
Only 1 window that is able to be opened did cause the room temperature to be a problem especially as the weather was quite nice outside.
The noise from locals leaving the bar after closing time was a little annoying, although the staff did try their bests to ensure rules were adhered to regarding the use of the rear entrance after 10pm, this as not always possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmsybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

my wife and i stayed here on friday 9th august 2013 we found this hotel very good the staff were really friendly and helpful at breakfast the next morning there were no bananas for breakfast so the woman serving breakfast was going to shop asked if anybody wanted anything from the shop and asked for a banana(i have one every morning for breakfast) and she came back with 2 small bananas and tod me they were free which i thought was very good my wife and i would definetely come back here in the future and would highly reccommend staying here.

Room Tip: room 4 is quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25alec21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but this didn't affect our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room was great. It had been recently 'done' and was modern and clean. Comfy bed, good tv and excellent shower. The only down side was that it was VERY hot when we stayed and, with only one window to open, nights were somewhat airless. Given that this is the hottest summer since whenever, room heat won't normally be a problem. The bar is busy with a range of clientele from the local area, a good range of drinks, a light bar menu and helpful staff. The opportunity to sit outside in the garden under the canopy, or not, is a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had 2 rooms for 2 couples for our one night stay at Bawn Lodge. After reading previous reviews it sounds as if we were fortunate in the rooms we were given. They were located at the back of the building and had obviously been recently refurbished. They were very quiet, comfortable, clean and user friendly. The bathroom was modern and the shower huge, which is something of a luxury in our travel experience. There were ample, easily accessible power points in the room, which these days is a necessity. I think they are systematically upgrading all the room as there were workers there during the day. The photos which are provided on the booking sites are of the older rooms. The refurbished rooms are much nicer!

All the staff, both in the hotel and the bar were wonderful. A lot of previous reviewers seemed to have a problem with the bar area. We really enjoyed meeting and chatting with the locals who were all very friendly and welcoming. I'm sure if walking through the bar to access the rooms is a problem, the back door (which is a coded entry) could be used. There is also a very nice terrace area at the front of the hotel with seating under huge market umbrellas and heating.
Breakfast was very nice and plentiful.

There is a bank directly across the road with an ATM as well as a couple of other pubs within a couple of minute's walk. The walk into town is no more than 10 minutes. Free parking is on site.
We highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room at the back of the building. I can recommend rooms 4 & 5.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b00bytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Gill Angela and Linda stayed here, we had a room with three beds which was fab, meant we could all be together. Found the hotel excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful food was also excellent. Hotel bar was busy which we liked. We shall be going back next year and taking our husbands and additional friends, we could not fault the hotel and price of stay very cheap. If you want a quiet posh and dull hotel don't stay here, if you want to have a really good time good food and friendly staff, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY. Hotel had a fab outside area. We will be back next year.
Gill, Angela and Linda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#21 of 44 in Chester
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawn Lodge

Address: 10 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bawn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bawn Lodge is a family run hotel and bar situated in Hoole, Chester. It is perfectly situated close to the city centre with easy links to the M53, M56 and M6 motorways. With prices starting from £50 the Bawn Lodge offers the ideal opportunity to see Chester in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bawn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawn Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing