We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better than a Premier Inn! Over-priced but great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No better than a Premier Inn! Over-priced but great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Visited for 2 nights at end of September for special occasion. Room not ready on arrival, but drinks vouchers issued and gratefully accepted. Location is great, but the standards are no better than hotels I use on business on a weekly basis at less half the price.
Breakfast was good - freshly prepared and lots of choice with good service from waiting staff.
Attended a "Comedy Night" at £17.95 per head for 3-course dinner, comedy act and disco which was good value, but on a fixed menu with no choices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Jbee111

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that your breakfast experience was an enjoyable one. The comedy night that you attended, was a pre planned event marketed as a set menu, once again I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening.

I note your comment regarding a the Premier Inn of which we have a distinct differential in both facilities and standards.



Mark Thacker

General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    579
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
35
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

A great hotel that is comfortable and has friendly and helpful staff.Our lovely roomontop floor had views of Welch hills and Chester racecourse.Check-in took some time,even without a queue,warm welcome from reception and head Concierge.Buffet breakfast was outstanding aswas the service,not so food and drink at dinner.There is a wonderful family run Italian Restaurant within walking distance.Executive lounge facilities need to be improved.Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and anxious to return in 2011.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night for an anniversary treat. Ok so we didn't pay for the room, we used our priority club points that we had saved, but considering it would have cost £157 without breakfast, I expected it to be fantastic. In actual fact the room wasn't much better than a Premier Inn room, it was quite small with just a few extra toiletries. We paid £7.50 each for an average breakfast but no complaints there. The staff were pleasant enough but not outstanding. We ordered some drinks in the bar - a small beer and a baileys. When the young barman brought them to us he gave my husband the small beer and me a pint of Becks! He didn't seem too happy that he had to change it, maybe embarrassed that he thought I looked like I drank pints!
The entrance was a bit strange, it was round the back streets surrounded by a lot of grey concrete, but it was only a little walk until you were in the High Street, so a really good location. Overall it was comfortable and nice but we have been to much nicer hotels that are better value for money. If we went back to Chester I don't think I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed one night as we were going to the theatre. The hotel car park does get full but if it is you can park at the council run park next door for the same rate. Yes it is £7.50 but car parking in the centre of Chester is at a premium and the rate compared favourably with other car parks near by.
The reception staff were very friendly, asked if we needed a town map without prompting and were very helpful to teh couple checking in next to us who had never stayed in a hotel before.
Breakfast was included in our rate of £110 (booked direct on the hotels web site) and was served until 11.30 at weekend which meant we could have a lie in. I wish more hotels did this.
It's a 3 mnute walk to the centre of town and although the hotel was located beside a busy dual carriagway we weren't disturbed by traffic noise so the double glazing seemed to work. The room was quite spacious and the bathroom spotlessly clean and well equipped.
After checking out I received an email asking if evything had been satisfactory and asking for feedback which was a nice touch.All in all this hotel more than met our expectations and we would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday nights with partner and young daughter. Overall the experience was OK, but I have experienced better at the Crowne Plazas in Birmingham and Kensington, and at other similar chain hotels.

As Platinum club members we were given a club floor bedroom with access to the club lounge for evening snacks/drinks and continental breakfast. These meals were OK, if you were the first people to arrive as foodstuffs were not replenished. Of course a full breakfast is on offer in the hotel restaurant, but make sure this is a part of your hotel rate because to purchase it separately will sting you a whopping £15.95 per adult.

The bedrooms in this hotel are on the small side, ours was slightly more spacious but it was on the third floor and the ceiling sloped, and only had one smallish window which opened a crack and did not let much air in. The air conditioning was ineffective and the room did get very stuffy (it was approximately 22 degrees outside), I would not like to stay here if it had been any warmer. In addition, the air conditioning outlet is over the guest bed, so you can not have it switched on if you have a child sleeping in the room.

The areas where this hotel does not meet with the experience of other Crowne Plazas is in the standards of in-room cleaning (hairs in the bath and on the bathroom floor), and tired and worn bedroom and corridor carpets. Our room did not have bathrobes/slippers, and when we asked a member of the housekeeping staff for a couple she replied ‘I’ll try to get some, we may not have any left’. So much for Platinum membership! Some did turn up but one robe smelt strongly of smoke.

On the second day our room was tidied but our complimentary toiletries and drinks were not replaced and at £169 per night this is just not good enough.

On a positive note, the leisure facilities were excellent. In the bathrooms the towels are big and fluffy. Children eat free in the restaurant and our daughter was given a colouring book pack, balloon and had a bag of sweets on her bed, all nice touches. The hotel is also convenient for Chester, and we were lucky in that our room had a view of the Welsh hills - not all customers are this fortunate I realise.

However, over all, this hotel was a disappointment after enjoying much better Crowne Plazas as detailed above. I suspect this hotel is kept busy and they simply don’t feel they need to try that hard. If I could get a better deal at the Chester Grosvenor, I would stay there next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisteriaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights using Late Rooms.com. As a special offer we got upgraded for the same price and free breakfast to the club room. I would not have been as impressed if i had to pay the full price and for breakfast as the rooms and bed are small. We overlooked the car park and could hear quite a lot of traffic noise from the main road each morning. The breakfast is ample (buffet) but if you are paying is around £15 each. We used the pool,steam room and sauna which is quite handy but my partner (male) felt quite akward in the male changing room as it is a communal room and there were children also using it with their parents, would be better if there were seperate changing booths in both the male & female changing rooms. The staff on reception and in the restaurant are very freindly. All in all i would recommend this hotel as it is very central for the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. Room OK. View from window over the rear service road - hotel boasts views of the Welsh Hills (not back of shopping centre). Some staff rude and unhelpful. Biggest disapointment was the £15.95 buffet breakfast. Tin fruit, choice of only one type of fresh bread each day and bacon etc over cooked and tasting of cooking fat!!!! Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing