We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I think this is a fantastic hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, easy check in, ordering taxi etc. Had drinks in the bar which was very pleasant, and not stupidly overpriced as in some hotels. The breakfast was great, again friendly staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMac2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    588
    177
    48
    37
See reviews for
236
868
36
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

you couldn't fault the location or the cleanliness of the rooms, but!! the service was hit and miss. When we arrived the reception staff were efficient but not very helpful when we queried the rate and it was the same on check out when we queried what we were due to pay given the problems we encountered. I had complained about the food as it was not the best and the poor standard of food and service was repeated at breakast . The Saturday morning breakfast in particular was awful with undercooked food and not enough staff to clear away, this did improve the next day but I wouldn't say the food was 4 star standard.
So I would recommend the hotel for the standard of cleanliness and the location but as breakfast and first nights dinner was included in the rate we didn't pay to upgrade if we had chosen to pay £22 for breakfast and up to £50 for a 2 course meal I would have been extremley miffed

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FABFIFTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 2, 2009
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us in Chester. Please be assured that your comments regarding the service and quality of food that you received have been taken seriously.
I would also like to reassure you, that the standards you experienced are not indicative of the high standards we strive to achieve. Please accept my apologies as we have clearly not meet with your expectations for this element of your stay on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Stayed at the hotel following a free night redemption from InterContinental Hotels. The facilities the hotel offered were excellent, all the public areas were spotless and the staff in these areas couldn't have been more helpful. Location is superb as only about one minute walk before you hit the main shopping street. Didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, drinks prices were as you expect from a city centre hotel. Would recommend and will be using the hotel next time we visit Chester

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

got excellent rate of 2 for 1 after finding it on visit chester website the hotel offered the same.

check-in is quick and pleasant and after initial trouble over wrong room due to error on part of bookings was sorted very quickly & with apologies. reception staff are on the whole efficient and all are really nice and it is well run by Mario, just make sure to get your copies of all receipts/emails to save time on check out.

The bar and restaurant are really flexible and you can mix their menus and eat in whichever you want, prices are comparable with chester and quality & presentation was excellent on everything we had. service is very good.

pool area is really clean and good staff, towels provided, need £1 for locker, changing areas are bit chilly though. Spa and range of treatments is small but good quality, excellent staff who are really friendly.

we had a room on 3rd floor (exec) it was really nicely decorated and our bed was very comfy, no problem with it at all, pillows are a bit deep/overfull, though only personal preference. Bathroom was in very good condition and definately did not need replacing as someone else wrote. Also probably the cleanest room ever had and we use hotels alot. Only drawback was childrens beds, convert from chairs and very uncomfortable. would upgrade to these rooms again. newspaper waiting by your door every morning.

exec lounge is small but very pleasant, free i.net access (1 terminal), free hot drinks vending machine (good quality) and choice of every teabag going! also fridge stocked with J20/Britvic55/pepsi/ water/ tonic all complimentary all day! Also 5-8pm red & white wine, choice of bottled lagers, canapes, beautifully presented and regularly restocked. At night some people with kids did make a mess and staff did best to keep clean but fault of parents/kids not staff. Also get complimentary breakfast in here, small selection of pastries/cheeses/meats/cereal/yoghurt/fresh fruit/fresh juice, all excellent quality and fresh. Were glad booked room only as we don't eat cooked breakfast and this was fine.

Hotel is well managed by a very friendly young manager, it is exceptionally clean and well maintained, couldnt fault staff and they are all lovely from cleaners to bar to pool to spa and reception. nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. spacious yet comfy, modern decor without being clinical.

Just behind the main street, easy access to centre of town/prime location and can't beleive never knew it was there before!

only draw back is walls are a bit this and we got noisy neighbours who never seemed to leave the room!! but this would not put me off returning.

will be going back, unless win lottery and go to the grosvenor!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Lovely Hotel, Clean, comfortable, value for money. Great swimming pool,spa etc
Very uncomfortable bed, slept in 2 different rooms a week apart, not much sleep either night, though swimming pool made up for it. Car Park good if it is not full up, otherwise you have to go to the overflow. Due to bad info, I parked in wrong carpark resulting in carpark fine from coucil, not amused. When I told staff, answer was, "Sort it out with council" ?? Though on the whole staff were great. Breakfast was very good, choice, hot etc. Staff in dining room were exceptional. Very central location. Air conditioning brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break with my wife and 4 yr old son. The hotel is in a fantastic location to Chester's shopping area, literally a 20 second walk from the hotel to the shops. Hotel is clean, comfortable rooms with decent beds. We stayed in an executive room which i think is larger than the standard rooms - bathrooms could do with a make over. Very friendly and helpful staff, avoid the pizzas from the bar menu - unless you like frozen ones that have been heated up (& not very well). Executive room guests are invited for canapes & free drinks from 5 - 8pm in the club lounge every evening, choice is limited - Becks, Stella, red & white wine, orange juice & coca cola -but its all free! Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We booked two rooms at the very last minute for the bank holiday weekend follwing a disasterous attempt to stay at another hotel near Chester (see my other review). From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. All staff were pleasant and helpful, our rooms were spotless and the food was perfectly fine (we only ate in the bar so can't comment on the restaurant although breakfast was good). OK, it is quite expensive to stay in this hotel but we felt it was worth it due to the location, comfort and service. The leisure facilities are good and the spa treatments fantastic - therapists very professional and friendly. Really have nothing bad to say :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing