We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant All Round, except, Big Pity about Uncomfortable Bed/Pillow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Brilliant All Round, except, Big Pity about Uncomfortable Bed/Pillow”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Lovely Hotel, Clean, comfortable, value for money. Great swimming pool,spa etc
Very uncomfortable bed, slept in 2 different rooms a week apart, not much sleep either night, though swimming pool made up for it. Car Park good if it is not full up, otherwise you have to go to the overflow. Due to bad info, I parked in wrong carpark resulting in carpark fine from coucil, not amused. When I told staff, answer was, "Sort it out with council" ?? Though on the whole staff were great. Breakfast was very good, choice, hot etc. Staff in dining room were exceptional. Very central location. Air conditioning brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    607
    190
    50
    38
See reviews for
251
902
38
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break with my wife and 4 yr old son. The hotel is in a fantastic location to Chester's shopping area, literally a 20 second walk from the hotel to the shops. Hotel is clean, comfortable rooms with decent beds. We stayed in an executive room which i think is larger than the standard rooms - bathrooms could do with a make over. Very friendly and helpful staff, avoid the pizzas from the bar menu - unless you like frozen ones that have been heated up (& not very well). Executive room guests are invited for canapes & free drinks from 5 - 8pm in the club lounge every evening, choice is limited - Becks, Stella, red & white wine, orange juice & coca cola -but its all free! Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We booked two rooms at the very last minute for the bank holiday weekend follwing a disasterous attempt to stay at another hotel near Chester (see my other review). From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. All staff were pleasant and helpful, our rooms were spotless and the food was perfectly fine (we only ate in the bar so can't comment on the restaurant although breakfast was good). OK, it is quite expensive to stay in this hotel but we felt it was worth it due to the location, comfort and service. The leisure facilities are good and the spa treatments fantastic - therapists very professional and friendly. Really have nothing bad to say :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and paid extra for a club/executive room. If you like a beer or two then it's worth paying the extra for a club room because every night between 5pm and 8pm there are free beers (bottles of stella and becks), wine and canapes (it's not enough for a full meal but tasty nibbles whilst having a beer and watching telly!), all available in the executive lounge. The exec lounge is open all day providing free soft drinks, a nice large TV and internet access (free). The other advantages of the club rooms are they are bigger, have huge king size beds (well ours did!) and you get nice touches like slippers, dressing gowns, free daily paper, complimentary toileteries and continental breakfast in the exec lounge until 9am (otherwise you can pay for breakfast in the main buffet restaurant in advance which is £15 for two people). You should definitely take time to spend a couple of hours in the pool, sauna and steam room too, a fab facility which is again, free. The hotel is also only a few minutes walk to plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the centre of Chester. We paid to park our car in the hotel car park - £7.50 per day which we didn't think was too bad for a city centre hotel.
We definitely will return and would pay extra for a club room again... an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitch_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel to attend Chester Races. The outside of the hotel is very drab and the entrance is well hidden if you are walking to the hotel (which we did) but the inside is superb. Check in was very easy and our room was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful and coped with the Race Crowds with great efficiency and patience. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, we didn't dine in the restaurant at night as there is so much choice in Chester. Only quibble couldn't get Sky Sports 1, 2 or 3 in room tv as it was not an option. Would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuesPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is a very nice hotel as city centre hotels go. It doesn't look that great from the outside but the inside is much better. Check-in/out was fairly quick, breakfast was lovely. The staff at breakfast were very friendly, they gave us a large table as we have a young child and went and got a highchair for us each morning. Rooms were furnished well and clean. Could do with a few more clothes hangers though! Bit freaked out to see hair in the bath plughole - which wasn't mine!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr0upLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I absolutely love Chester and this hotel has an excellent location.
It's literally a 3 minute walk to the historic city centre, fab for sightseeing and shopping.
The room was lovely, great service & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing