We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I absolutely love Chester and this hotel has an excellent location.
It's literally a 3 minute walk to the historic city centre, fab for sightseeing and shopping.
The room was lovely, great service & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just spent 3 nights here and was really impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful right through the hotel.

Our room was great - clean, fresh and modern with crisp white linens and towels, a good shower and tasteful decor.

Location is right in city centre so you don't need a car to explore once it's safely in the hotel car park. The hotel was so quiet, we had 3 great nights sleep.

Breakfast was nice, only criticism being the lack of fresh fruit. Dinner was ok but overpriced - I would recommend going out for dinner - Upstairs at the Grill is a wonderful (but pricey) restaurant just round the corner from the hotel.

Bus station is a 30 second walk for the Chester Sightseeing tour - good fun and interesting. Train station is about 15-20 mins walk or £4 taxi fare - we took the train to Liverpool, another great day out and train fare was cheap.

Shopping in Chester is good and on the hotel's doorstep.

Didn't use the health club but pool was v small.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

this hotel was very central, and all it looked to be on the hotels website.
beautiful, inside and out.

We got this hotel at a very good price, which probably made it that little more enjoyable!!
look out for bargains

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234gtbr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Came for a 3 night break based on previous reviews and was not disappointed. Yes it is ugly outside but inside it is well equipped, clean and most importantly well run. The staff were the highlight - always friendly and always helpful. Didn't have dinner but the breakfast buffet was good. The pool/health club was clean and well maintained. Don't bother with the suites - they have a cramped feel. We 'downgraded' to an large exec room which felt more spacious. Asked nicely, and we were refunded the difference even though we had pre-paid. Walk out the door and you are in the city centre. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stay at this hotel 5 or 6 nights a year mainly because of it's location near the heart of Chester. It has all the facilities you normally need with a few extra touches like complimentary water (sparkling and still) in the room, and a good (thought not inexpensive) room service. The staff are generally friendly and helpful, and it has a good health club

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This Crowne Plaza used to be a Moat House, and is much improved for the refurbishment that has taken place, especially in the rooms.

It is not an easy hotel to find your way into - whilst on the ring road, it's easy to keep passing but not quite reaching - and the entrance to the car park is not logical - but quite well signposted - there are two car parks in one - make sure you get the right one as it's the cheaper (£7.50 a night). There's an entrance to a lift from the car park - easy to find - by the smokers - also entrances at street level (dingy) and 1st floor level into a shopping arcade.

Reception checked us in quick and very pleasantly. The room is quite compact but nicely decorated with quite a modern twist. Beds very comfy. Electrics were a bit dodgy - fridge did not work, trouser press stayed on constantly, only one socket worked, and the air con kept cutting out after a few hours - hot sweat at wrong time of the night! I did report the 1st three to a nearby cleaner (and later to reception) who assured all would be sorted.

This unfortunately is where the hotel fails - the staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful, always keen to sort - but rarely anticipating or sorting issues that well. A bit like a date with cheap knickers?

Anyhow no electrics sorted - very helpful receptionist offered an alternative room or to sort - and two buckets of ice the solution - did the trick, just. On checking out it appeared quite a few other guests had experienced air con problems.

Crowne Plaza usually have bath robes - had to call up for these, and a second towel, apparently problems with laundry were happening.

Didn't eat at the hotel - found an excellent bistro - Francs - in Cuppin St - two courses and wine for £10 ! Great value and good food / service.

Breakfast was OK - good range would normally be there - just a bit short on many things (no cornflakes, fruit, marmalade, bacon, eggs...) - each was replenished when a manager walked through and spotted - but otherwise a bit hit and miss.

This may sound that I am a bit of a whinger - just one of those occasions when expectations were higher than what was delivered - at a "special" discounted B&B no-refund rate of £101 (plus the £7.50 car park) - I left with the impression that the hotel was OK - but nothing more.

Redemption was Chester - a delightful town - much better for visiting mid-week without the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Dear visitors,
We have booked ourselves into Crowne Plaza in Chester for 1 night on one of the late deals website.
However, we had to cancel our 1 night stay due for emergency reasons. We have rang up our late deals website to ask if we could transfer our night for another night - so just to be clear- we DID NOT ask for a refund, just to reschedule our night to another night as we were unable to travel tht day due to emergency reasons. This way hotel would still be getting their money. Last...website said that this is possible and a standard practice and it is up to the Reservations of the hotel to do this. They have transferred us to the hotel reservations and they were AWFUL, UNPROFESSIONAL and VERY UNHELPFUL !
They just kept saying 'bear with me one minute' and when she got back on the line she kept saying ' 'it is terms and conditions' ' its terms and conditions' 'it's terms and conditions' - like a parrot. She wasn't even listening to us. AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. She was unwilling to help us and stole our money, basically this was A DAYLIGHT ROBERRY.
They need a serious staff training at customer service skills!

Just to add, I have travelled a lot around the world, and usually don't have to reschedule my trip last minute as it was the case this time. It happened to me once in the past, and other hotel was very helpful, understanding and willing to reschedule the date on the booking.
Crowne Plaza Chester sucks - highly NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blondielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2009

In responce to your review ,i was sorry to read that you were unable to stay with us on the date that you booked.

I would like to advise you that we have very competitive flexible rates whcih may be cancelled upto 4pm on the day of arrival, as well as the fully prepaid non refundable rate of which you booked.

If you would like to discuss this matter further then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Mark Thacker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $123 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing