We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Placwe to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    607
    190
    50
    38
See reviews for
251
902
38
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Without doubt, this is a hotel that does not live up to its
reputation. My wife and I stop over in Chester once a month and usually book into the abode. I thought we would have a change but regret doing so.
Our room was not ready on our arrival. We were offered a complimentary drink at the bar but after 25 minutes had to go back to reception to check if the room was now ready. Once entering the room I was quite shocked. I did not expect to see wall paper peeling away from the wall, as it was in a number of places. The bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. No safe for personal belongings and a TV for which the remote only worked if you gave it a tap! All in all a very poor hotel indeed, The Abode seems to have set a standard that the Plaza can only dream of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Firstly I would like to apologise that we did not meet the high standards that we strive to achieve at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I can assure you that the problems you encountered during your stay, both upon arrival & when entering the room, Have been forwarded onto our Reception Manager & Maintenance manager for following up.

If you do wish to stay with us again in the future, Please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We used this hotel twice in December and twice we were disappointed.
Location and service are good but for the money there is much better.
On both stay the noise level was a major issue. As such we were unable to enjoy a good night sleep.
Room and amenities are ok; nothing special though.
I understand that Christmas parties are good money during December but it should not be at the cost of normal guests.
I will not return and instead use another hotel in Chester.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly thankyou for taking the time to review your time with us in Chester

I was pleased to hear you made use of our good location and found our service levels where good, However I was very disappointed to read that your stay was not up to the usual high standards we strive to achieve due to noise problems. We do try our utmost to ensure that all of our guests are given the best available rooms, Away from any noise or events. Sadly it does sound like you have had two bad experiences & for this I sincerely apologise.

If you wish to discuss this further, Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from a Xmas break at this FIRST CLASS HOTEL, Rooms, Staff & Location First Class, Breakfast Best Ever in a hotel, however rest of meals below average for standard of hotel, due to the fact that that during the period we were staying there were four coaches there.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room on 3rd or 4th floor and use the lounge with free bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valmerthyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. What a nice review to read! Im glad you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. I will be sure to pass over your comments about breakfast to our Head Chef & team, and im sure they will be more than happy to hear your fantastic comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 23rd to 27th December 2013 in room 329. A very large double with all you would expect BUT with more. Tea/coffee, fridge, safe and complimentary bathrobe, slippers, bodywash, shampoo, body lotion, mouthwash, shower cap, sewing kit, nail file and face flannels. If you forgot your razor, toothbrush, gel etc just ask your Very Kind room attendant and it would be supplied. Breakfast was a delight with an a variety of cerials, fresh fruit salads, yogurts, breads/toasts,jams and at least 8 items from the cooked selection, with plenty of tea or coffee. Lunch on Christmas Day was a joy, with a pre ordered choice before. [delicious]. We had either a buffet lunch [more salads please at this time] and a pre ordered choice for dinner. Lunch/Dinner also came with a choice of [free] red or white wine. Bar prices were £4.95 small or £6.80 large for a glass of house wine. ALSO VERY CLOSE TO THE SHOPPING CENTRE

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your time in Chester. Im pleased to hear that your stay with us over the Christmas period was relaxing & enjoyable. I will be sure to pass over your comments to the team at our next team meetings.

Hopefully we will see you again Christmas 2014!

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night as we were going out into Chester for a meal.
The hotel itself is ideally located close to the city centre and is just a few minutes walk from numerous bars and restaurants.
We upgraded to an executive room so we could use the club lounge. The room itself was a good size and has everything you really need.
The club lounge was small, but very nice and not at all busy while we were there. A small selection of beers and wines were made available between 5pm and 8pm, which is great. There is also soft drinks and tea / coffee available anytime during the lounge opening hours.
The staff were very attentive and when we noticed that out of the complementary toiletries available we had several small bottles of mouthwash but no body wash, one quick call to reception and housekeeping brought us up some straight away, apologizing for the mistake (both bottles look very similar!).
We didn't eat in the hotel or use the leisure facilities but from what I can tell both looked very good. That said Chester has so many great places to eat I'd recommend a short walk into town, you will find many great places to eat and drink.
The hotel has its own car-park (£7.50 for 24hrs) which is great for a city centre location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your time with us in Chester,

I was pleased to hear you made good use of our fantastic location & you found the room itself contained everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. I will be certain to pass over your positive comments over to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Chester in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penygroes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had an excellent overnight stay at the crown plaza! Clean, spacious and excellent, efficient staff! Central to the town centr and a small walk down the alley and to your left and you are there!! . Highly recommended to anyone for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. What a fantastic review! Im pleased to hear that your stay went well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing