We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept awake till 1am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Kept awake till 1am”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for my wife's 40th birthday on the 29/11/2013. Room was nice and clean and the executive lounge was a nice touch. We went to bed at around 10.30 but there was a party going on down stairs and the noise of the music could clearly be heard and kept us and our six year old daughter awake till the party finished at 1am. I phoned reception but they didn't seem to care. I was going to mention it on check out but the receptionist didn't even ask if our stay was ok just took my £7.50 for parking, turned and started to talk to other member of staff. Been kept awake spoilt the next day a bit as we where all so tired. I would stay here again because the location is great and the rooms are lovely, Might just check there are no parties on next time. Ha ha ha

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleddyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear bleddyn w,

We appreciate your feedback. It is good to know you like our clean room and executive lounge. Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our staff service and apologize for any discomfort for any noise challenges. Management has been notified and proper action has been taken to ensure such situations will be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for your comments which will help us identify areas of improvement. We hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    593
    178
    49
    37
See reviews for
240
874
36
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akbuk, Turkey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

2 minutes from the shops and nightlife, a perfect location, the rooms are quiet considering the hotels central location.. The hotel is comfortable and the rooms are spacious and clean, the set room temperature was a little too hot during the night. Good choice English breakfast however lack of continental choice for my non eating pork friend. Would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnakinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

Im pleased to hear you made use of our good location & our rooms clean & spacious.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future,

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Have just returned from Chester after a two night stay in the CP. The hotel is large, modern and well located for both the city and the race course.
Our room was large and well appointed, having a good size flat screen TV, trouser press and fast wifi.
The bed was large and comfortable with a choice of pillows.
From our window we had a good view of the race course and distant hills. The window opened slightly, but it need closing overnight as road noise was noticed. The air conditioner was most effective and kept us comfortable overnight (we found the hotel public areas too warm) in our room.
The hotel was putting in a great effort to make the public areas very Christmas like with lots of trees and decorations.
The parking was close by (missed the turn in) and can be accessed by a lift to reception.
Breakfast (our only food experience) was good with a very good selection of both hot and cold food. The older lady who replenished the food was extremely friendly and a credit to the hotel. In fairness all the staff were friendly and helpful to us.
Location is just perfect as the walk to the centre of Chester is little more than a few minutes.
Are there any downsides? Yes, as in so many hotels the room keys became deactivated and needed resetting and the room doors automatically shut with a bang, as do the windows when being closed. Minor points however that did not spoil our stay at all.
We would certainly choose this hotel when next in Chester.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has good views but do have road noise if the window is opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Firstly, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us in Chester.

I was very pleased to hear that you found our staff here friendly and helpful, and you managed to make use of our fantastic location. I will personally make sure that Anne from our Breakfast team hears your kind comments. Please accept my apologies that you had problems with our keycards during your stay, We have since had an engineer report to the hotel to service our key-card system & they have successfully rectified the issue.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My sister and I, as two pensioners, were planning to visit friends in Chester and booked a room for one night, Monday 25th November.
On Monday,18th November we were involved in an incident on the A34 , resulting in the AA having to tow away our car. Our garage informed us, after inspection of the car, that it was beyond repair. As a result of this information we e-mailed the hotel , on Friday 22nd November, to cancel our booking giving over 60 hours notice.
We followed this up with a telephone call and were then informed that the reservation was non refundable due to the Terms and Conditions in place. Surely there MUST be mitigating circumstances which should be taken into consideration. Contact information of the AA's and the garage's involvement was offered to verify the incident in which we were involved. A case number was issued and three promises of return calls from the Manager never materialised.
Today 27th November finally, we received a call confirming that we would not be receiving a refund. We consider this to be very sharp practice and lamentable customer service. We would recommend that the Terms and Conditions of this hotel be compared to those of other hotels before making a booking,

.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel with more understanding staff!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Patricia R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all experience you had that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen , England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having stopped at this Hotel for the last 4 years at new year with excellent service we were looking forward to another good new year 2012/2013 unfortunatly this was not the case we had terrible seats for the new years eve Gala dinner with better views of the kitchen than the band and a waiter who thought it was funny to see how much crockery he could get on our table before we said anything.
We did complain and got a apology along with a small refund on the costs. The most annoying thing though is that we had decided to book again this year due to the previous good service. But unlike previous years we were not contacted regarding rebooking and when we rang just told they had no record of our previous attendances and we would have to book somewhere else as it is now full

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyDarwen_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear guest, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for problems you encountered during your visit to us at the end of 2012. I can assure you that we strive for very high standards, and from what I can hear you did not recieve the high level of customer care I would expect. Hopefully your experience last year does not dissuade you from staying with us in the future. If you do wish to visit us again, Please call the hotel directly and mention this review, and I will personally ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with a group of friends to Xmas shop. The hotel is situated in the centre of Chester so really good for the local shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious but really warm even with the air con on lowest setting. The shower in the room could be better. There is lots of choice for breakfast but cooked buffet breakfast was quite cold. We ordered cocktails in the bar and the staff didn't really know how to make them and took over 30 to serve us. Good hotel but at £157 a night expect a bit better

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wella1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us,

I was pleased to hear that you made use of our fantastic location to nearby amenities & you found the bedrooms clean & spacious. However I was disappointed to hear that some areas of your stay did not reach the high standards we strive to achieve at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I will personally ensure that the relevant training with the bar staff is conducted to increase their knowledge of cocktail making.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the New Year & you could taste test the teams new skills!

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as I was attending a wedding. Room rate we had was acceptable as it was discounted but the hotel is not worth the standard rates in my opinion.
Room was just OK. Some TV channels not working, very hot with aircon not really doing the job. Bathroom wasn't cleaned properly which is a bit worrying.
Check-in staff friendly and staff generally were very welcoming, Breakfast was good, fresh and good quality.
The place just requires a bit of a spruce up and a bit more attention to detail and it would be really good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, Thankyou for taking the time to review your time with us in Chester,

I was pleased to hear that you found that our team was friendly and welcoming, and you enjoyed your full English breakfast.

I can assure you that your comments in relation to the TV and Air-Con in the room have been passed over to our maintenance manager to follow up. I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the public areas early next year.

I hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Chester in the New Year.

Kind Regards

Mark Tasker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing