We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First impression is "what is this", the lower ground floor entrance is in a road tunnel to a public car park, the hotel car park is separate and costs £7.50 per night, quite expensive I think. The entrance from the car park is on the 1st floor, you have to go down to the ground floor to check in, not the lower ground floor where the main entrance is. (keep up).
The rooms are good, spacious and clean with an extra large bed which is comfortable, the bathroom was ok too.
Breakfast, if it is not included is £10 with a voucher from reception. I found the breakfast experience a little unpredictable. Plates, coffee etc cleared when only going to the buffet for some more. Somebody else given your seat while away at the buffet. The tables not set, missing cutlery etc.
This let the hotel down in my opinion, it seemed very un-professional.
Generally this hotel is all that you would expect from the Crown Plaza brand.
The main reason for going to Chester was not the hotel but the city, it was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and you found we provided everything you needed for your trip to Chester. I have taken notes concerning your experience with us for breakfast and I will discuss these comments with our restaurant team as soon as possible. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here Saturday evening just gone, great hotel. We booked a standard room but upgraded to an executive double upon checking in for an extra £30. The upgrade included use of the club lounge which offers complimentary food & drink between certain times.

Room was great, a little on the smaller side than most, however that wasn't a major issue. Location was great, very close to everything in the centre of Chester.

Staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesWDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your club room and found everything that came with it to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

booked to stay here for one night as attending a wedding in Chester, it happened to be race day so the traffic to get to the hotel was shocking.
I rang the night before to check parking but was told that we would have to go to the multi-storey overspill, so instead parked down the road in the Grosvenor shopping centre 24 hours 10 pounds. The room was very good, clean and tidy the bed was huge could have had 4 people in it. the room was very expensive 175 for the night and no breakfast we think that because it was race day they put up the prices it would have been cheaper to have got a taxi home 30 miles away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

hotel looks nothing from outside.the main entrance is at the back hidden away.but dont be fooled by the exterior.Best thing about the hotel is the staff.everyone from reception to the staff in the bar and restaraunt were chatty and very efficient.room was great,huge comfy bed,clean,well planned bathroom,empty fridge,hairdrier,robes,slippers,shower curtain that doesnt stick to you,usual toiletries.bar reasonably priced,breakfast perfect.silk restaraunt was okay!! avoid the fish and chips if you hate soggy,wet fish.plenty of places to eat within very short walking distance of the hotel.pool and jaquzzi lovely and clean and usual size for a hotel pool.best thing about the hotel is the closeness to chester center.come out front door of hotel,turn right and keep walking,going down a lane between buildings(only about 50yards)and the turn left.you are now on chesters main shopping street.mainly pedestrianised.bset shopping area i've been to in ages.fantastic choice of shops.chester is ideal for a weekend away and crowne plaza is the place to stay.

Room Tip: i thought the room looking over the road would be noisey,but with airconditioning in room you didnt...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel to be comfortable with excellent team members and wonderful rooms. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent two night stopver in Chester. W e had travelled up in a hurry, and even forgotten our toothbrushes, shaving razors. The staff were great and provided us with all we needed, gave us good advise on local eating and shopping places, including the florist we needed in a hurry.

All in all excellent location, and good service.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that face away from the city. The restaurant was great for steaks. The car park...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us.

I am very pleased to read that you greatly enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking as well as how helpful we were. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend as we find this hotel outstanding and we only ever stay here when we come to chester I can only say a big thankyou to all your staff for making our stay most enjoyable as always thanks again looking forward to our next stay and Thanku to Brandon for recommending lovely places to eat

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanT602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us greatly and found everything to your liking. I will be sure to pass your thanks onto Brandon and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with two kids and my wife. Booked a so called suite on the club level floor (free drinks and canapés from 5-8 every day). Room was very poor, wallpaper peeling off the Walls, Stains on bed ware and carpets. Sink in bathroom leaked and was never repaired even though we mentioned it. The staff at the hotel where very good and quite friendly but lacked any local knowledge when pressed for local recommendations etc.. The hotels location is second to none just a 2 min walk to chester city centre. Car parking on site is convenient but very expensive at £7.50 a night, if your going to provide parking, guests should never be expected to pay. The biggest wind up for me though was there was no free wi-fi, they wanted £15 a day which imho is disgraceful. I can go to costa coffee and spend £2 and get all the free wi-fi I want but pay these guys £150 a night and no chance. Wake up crowne plaza. The food and drinks we had were very good quality and the food at the bar was good value and was served with a smile. Overall you can't fault the location but that's not enough to recommend it. We won't be returning in a hurry. Chester itself is fantastic and well worth a visit and I can highly recommend Hickorys smokehouse down by the river fa a great food experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Perrisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you found our team members and food to be of an excellent quality and you were impressed by this and our location. I am sorry, however, to read of your dissatisfaction concerning your room. I will be sure to look into the issue with your bathroom as soon as possible and I will talk to our housekeeping team to ensure the best care is being given to our rooms. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $127 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing