We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location a plus and a minus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location a plus and a minus”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights for work and liked the central location, just a few meters from the shopping streets and restaurants. The downstairs entrance though is in a very (!!) uninviting and at night a bit creepy area next to a parking structure. Not a nice place to walk on your own. The room was fine, complementary bottles of water and good bathroom facilities. Breakfast is okay, with croissants, breads, hot dishes, cereals etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I would like to assure you that our downstairs entrance is constantly monitored and very safe. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    598
    182
    49
    37
See reviews for
247
883
37
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Do not let be impressed by the first sight of the place. Outdoors is not as it is indoors. Once you get into the lobby everything changes. Lobby and ground floor are really luxury.
The rooms are simpler ones but they are very comfortable and quite clean. Though an executive one, it lacks large dimensions but it was OK. We have been upgraded to Club level so we had access to the Club lounge: not great but OK.
Down: Wi fi access
Ups: one: Location. The center is just one block walking.
Second: Spa and fitness center. Indoors swimming pool is immaculate and though having arrived there only 45 minutes before closing time in no moment the young in care showed any sign of hurrying us. Relax at the swimming pool after a long day visiting Chester was a pleasant moment.
To get the hotel from the train station, we took a taxi which was not very expensive.
We loved Chester, if it happens to come back I would go again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and relaxing. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our leisure facilities even for a short amount of time – I hope to welcome you back very soon for another trip to Chester.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to The Crown Plaza for my Daughters Hen night and it was fab. We had arranged to do pole dancing and this was held in the Hotel, straight after that we went in the Spa and off to our rooms to get ready. The rooms were lovely and very quite which I love. We had access to the executive lounge so we all gathered in there before we left for the evening. It was great in the morning to as we could all eat together in the lounge.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your daughter’s hen night you organised with us as well as the spa and your room. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last weekend, for a mother and daughter spa break and we had a great time, we were upgraded to executive room although not the largest it was very comfortable. We used the facilities which were great and had excellent treatments at the spa, staff were very good and reception staff excellent. Thank you all for a great time just what we needed. Debbie Rollins

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fireblade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your spa break with us, I’m very pleased to read that everything was extremely enjoyable and it was just what you and your daughter needed. I hope to welcome you both back for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is situated within the city walls. Approx 5 mins taxi ride £4.00 from railway station. Reception is on first floor and the staff are very helpful. Daily newspapers available for free - just collect from paper stand in reception. Check in and out easy.
Rooms are light and airy. Complimentary water everyday and fridge in room. Bedtime saw a small package placed beside the bed with aroma therapy sprays for good nights sleep. Comfy bed, dressing gowns and slippers provided, If you have forgotten toothpaste or other essentials a call to reception and complimentary supplies appear.
Its only a short walk to main shopping area turn right out of hotel.
Breakfast good, staff attentive for replenishing supplies. Chef happy to cook omelettes etc .

Room Tip: Check out prices for your stay on line eg trivago.We never paid up front for breakfast and paid £10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that your time with us was excellent and everything you experienced was wonderful. I hope you enjoyed the little touches we provided; the aromatherapy kits really do help you drop off. I hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

With most large hotels these days you are guaranteed a decent room and a shower that works. What determines a good or bad hotel is the little things. Sadly, the Crowne Plaza Chester did not really live up to it's price tag...
Following his cancer treatment my husband had his last consultant's appointment scheduled for a Monday, so we decided to take advantage of the racing at Chester and turn the trip into a celebratory weekend break. We had stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Cambridge when my husband was there on business and it had been absolutely faultless, so had no hesitation in paying the rather hefty charge to stay at it's sister hotel in Chester.
When we arrived the hotel car park barrier wasn't working and no one was answering the call button, so we had to pay to park in the public car park until we had checked in and sorted the problem out. We had arrived before lunch so didn't mind that our rooms weren't available but asked for somewhere where we could change our clothes and get ready to go the race course. We were directed to the changing rooms at the spa - perhaps a reasonable enough solution on the face of it, but my husband said the male room was full of people showering, the floor was soaked and everywhere was steamy and wet; he ended up going back along the corridor and changing in the toilet.
When we got back from the races we went to our room, kicked off our shoes and opened the minibar - it contained just two bottles of water. Thinking that it might just be an error due to being busy, we said nothing and expected it to be replenished next day. It wasn't - nor were the bottles of water that we drank replaced. On check out we were told that management is phasing out the minibar system.
The breakfast in Cambridge was the best hotel cooked breakfast I had ever eaten and their waffles were absolutely scrummy, so I was looking forward to a delicious Sunday morning breakfast. Unfortunately I was to be disappointed - less choice, less well prepared. The fruit salad was sat in so much water it was virtually tasteless and the grapefruit didn't appear to have a single unbroken segment in it. The hot buffet looked as though it had been sat there for hours - dry bacon, crusty beans, chewy hash browns, very dark and wrinkly sausages, solid fried eggs and the most dry looking scrambled egg I have ever seen (someone put a dollop of butter over it to try and improve the look, but it didn't work!). On the other side of the buffet I was shocked to see preserves still in their supermarket jars - one doesn't expect jars of Tesco Lime Marmalade in a hotel of this rating! The few Danish pastries on offer also had a sad supermarket look to them. Trying to be generous I thought again that perhaps it was due to being busy and would improve the next day, but it didn't and in fact was worse - when I asked for tea I was given a pot of hot water and with the tea bag delivered separately a full five minutes later...
My husband needed to access the hotel's Wi-Fi to keep up with work e-mails but we had to pay £15 per day for this (most hotels are free these days). Sadly the connection was so bad that we ended up walking down the street and standing outside another establishment!
In fairness to the reception staff, they were all friendly, helpful and polite and were a pleasure to deal with. Our room was a reasonable size and clean. But at Crown Plaza rates, this wasn't enough to make up for the lack of attention to detail elsewhere and we left feeling rather ripped-off and disappointed.

Room Tip: If a minibar is important to you, check whether your room actually has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOddCouple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry to read that your time with us was disappointing and you left feeling dissatisfied.

Firstly, I would like to extend my apologies concerning the car park barrier; someone should always be there to answer the alarm, but unfortunately when we are busy it can be hard to ensure someone is in the vicinity to respond. I’m sorry there wasn’t a more appropriate location for you and your husband to change clothes but nonetheless, I hope you enjoyed your day at the races.

Breakfast, as you correctly observed, is one of the busiest times of day for us but this is no excuse for a slip in our high standards. As we usually receive the highest compliments from our guests about breakfast, I will be looking into this instance to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

Our WiFi is free for guests who are of Gold or Elite status in the IHG Rewards Club. This service will become available for other guests next year. I am pleased, however, to read that you found our team members to be excellent and your room clean, comfortable and spacious.

I would like the opportunity to restore your faith in Crowne Plaza Chester and invite you to email me on gm.cpchester@qmh-hotels.com so we can discuss your review further.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very nice spacious hotel. We had a family suite. We didn`t use the pool as we thought we might as we were out and about in Chester instead. Beautiful city well worth a weekend trip with lots to see, and loads of history.
Hotel reception staff were great, very helpful and seemed to love their job! The sofa bed hadn`t been made up when we got there but a quick phone call sorted that.
The restaurant food was good, there was something lacking in the ambience but I`m not sure what....music?? the breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourweekendaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you found your stay with us as a family to be excellent. I’m pleased our team members were impressive and I have taken notes concerning the ambience of our restaurant. I hope to welcome you all back soon for another relaxing stay and an excellent breakfast.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,157 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing