We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Hotel for weekend in Chester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel for weekend in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the end of May this year.

The Hotel is very clean and all the staff I encountered where very friendly and pollite.

The rooms are spacious and clean and ideal for a weekend in Chester as the hotel is so close to the centre.

The breakfast is excellent with lots of choice and is readily replenished by the cooks.

Try the leisure spa to relax in the pool, sauna etc. Staff here also pollite and the facilities are very good. Ok the gym and pool are small, but it is a hotel not sports complex..

Overall another excellent stay in this hotel in Chester.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to read that everything was perfect especially our breakfasts and leisure facilities. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a day at the races. The hotel is a perfect location as its just a short walk to the race track and also to the shops and bars. The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your time.

I am very pleased to read that our hotel is in the perfect location for the town centre and our rooms are clean and comfortable. I’m very happy to learn you would stay again and we come highly recommended. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived at the Crowne Plaza on the day the horse races were being held in Chester, fresh from a transatlantic flight. The hotel was filled with British guests in their race-day finery, but the staff was most helpful to two American tourists in the midst of it all. The room was very pleasant, but it was the staff that stood out; I've never been better treated anywhere. You can walk the Mediaeval city wall beginning a couple of blocks away, and the Rows are right near. I loved Chester and hope to come back. I know where I'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beartrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our team members to be friendly and helpful and your room pleasant. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Brilliant location for the racecourse and the centre of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, clean and had everything you could wish for. Expensive this time due to the race meeting being on but still didn't feel short changed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team members and your room to be to a high standard. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was ideally situated, being a mere minute or two amble from the main streets of Chester. Staff were friendly and welcoming, particularly the barman. I always enjoy staying in Crowne Plaza hotels as you get good value for money - the beds comfy, the bathroom well equipped, the thoughtful touches like the toiletries, biscuits and guides to the area. If we're back in Chester again will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and you found our team members to be friendly and welcoming and your room comfortable. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night following a work meeting nearby. I found the hotel easily located off the main city ring road, and it is ideally located for those wishing to explore the city.

Was warmly greeted upon arrival, with the usual explanations regarding the facilities of the hotel, and breakfast/check-out times etc, The receptionist also enquired if i'd like any further details about the locality and provided maps etc, and directions to the closely located High Street (containing all the usual chains and some lovely little shops too)

The room was very comfortable and clean with comfy bed, the usual complimentary toiletries etc. The only criticism, as with many hotel rooms was the lack of an electrical socket near the bed, which is handy to charge your mobile up overnight. The view from my room was also outstanding - overlooking the racecourse and distant Welsh countryside

Check-out was very efficient thanks to "Debbie" who was a delight to deal with, engaging in friendly banter and wishing a pleasant day.

Would definitely return to this hotel again if in the local area.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking St Martin's Way offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for one night to celebrate his 21st. Checking in was a brilliant experience, the staff are so friendly! We hadn't been to Chester before so the gentleman serving us kindly gave us a map and explained where different places were, turns out the hotel is literally a 2 min walk for the town centre it was fab! The rooms were AMAZING, I booked a standard double room and when we walked into the room I thought there'd been a mistake and maybe I'd booked an executive room by mistake because it was SO so nice. Also, I mentioned when booking that it was my boyfriends 21st and there was a bottle of wine sent up to the room free of charge which we thought was a lovely touch. Silks bar is also very nice, we went there for a drink before our meal at Piccolino's which by the way is fantastic. Overall, we had a lovely stay here and we were treated like royalty. We may even return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlxx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing