We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good, central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

we stayed at hotel for 1 night, BB. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking into Chester. We booked a kingsize room, which was massive. Room was very clean and spacious with hairdryer, trouser press, 2xRobes, tea/coffee making facilites and a tv. Room service was excellent. Hotel in general was very good and we would stay here again. Breakfast was very good offering fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, egg, sausages, bacon etc. Service was very friendly. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight why you enjoyed your time with us. I am very pleased to see that our location was particularly helpful for you and you enjoyed everything you experienced in our hotel and found everything to be of a high quality including service and meals. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    580
    175
    48
    37
See reviews for
234
859
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked the hotel for 1 night for a girls weekend, the hotel room was clean & large with 2 girls sharing each room. We were also all booked in for a Spa treatment within the hotel, these ranged from manicures to massages = all of us were thrilled with the treatments we had, the treatments rooms were clean & relaxing and the staff were lovely. The location of the hotel is great just a short walk onto the main cobbled street. We ate out at a restuarant in the evening & returned to the hotel for a night cap, this was the only downer of the stay, the young guys behind the bar were rude, arrogant & were unwilling to make some of our group coffee/hot choclate citing the reason that it would take 45 mins for the machine to get going (in reality they couldn't be bothered to clean it all again) anyway after much pestering 10 minutes later voila! drinks were served and the miserable guys were left to clean the machine (again!) drinks in the bar were pricey as you would expect but also of poor quality (suspect watered down) the Baileys that some of us had was not the usual creamy spirit). Fortunately we did the majority of our eating & drinking away from the hotel. Would I stay again? Yes - for the lovely rooms, & location of the hotel, but I wouldn't want to be eating/drinking here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190748JoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend break with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I am sorry to read that you didn’t experience the highest quality service from some of our team members – I have taken your comments into consideration and I will be sure to investigate this further. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend paid for us to have a night away in the Crowne Plaza for my Christmas present. I must say, it was one of the best presents I have ever had! The hotel is immaculate, every surface shines. The room was spacious and very modern. The bar was fab (free peanuts were a plus, but the prices were a bit steep) and the location (in terms of proximity to the centre of Chester) was ideal. I would return again and again if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andmyopinionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to read that not only was everything to your liking, but you would happily return again and again. I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked in to stay at the Crown Plaza whilst visiting Chester on Sunday/Monday. Stayed there a few years ago and was not disappointed. It has a perfect location, very central, we booked a double room with a king sized bed, which was massive, it was clean and very comfortable. Check in was efficient and breakfast was very nice with lots on offer. I look forward to staying there again when I visit in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCharlie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent a weekend in Chester for the Races with our daughter and son in law and had an excellent time. From the moment we registered at the hotel, the Reception staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were lovely and the facilities were first class. We ate in the bar the first evening and that was when we had a problem. The waiter in Silks Bar had a very unpleasant attitude, he was sulky and insolent - when asked if we could order some food, his reply was "why wouldn't you be able to" and he was less than helpful with our requests. The following evening we ate out and returned to the bar for a nightcap, prepared to accept that the previous evening may have been the result of a bad the day. Again he was insolent and disinterested and spoiled what had otherwise been a lovely day. I have not named him here because we completed the Hotel Comments Request and named him then but he knows who he is. Otherwise the Hotel would have rated excellent by all our party.

Room Tip: We had rooms 207 and 208 (208 being slightly bigger) but both rooms were quiet and had everything we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found almost everything to your liking. We are aware of the situation and it is currently being investigated but thank you for sharing your kind words concerning the rest of your stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Chester and I must say it is an excellent hotel. You can park the car and not use it the entire time as everything is easily accessible. Just a short walk into the town, city walls and river. The staff were exceptional, very helpful and always smiling, nothing was too much trouble. Don't be put off by the exterior, as it is next to a car park, once inside everything is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Welsh hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking with exceptional team members. I hope to welcome you back soon when in Chester.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked this hotel because it's within easy walking distance of Chester racecourse and Chester centre. It's literally on the doorstep of both. Check-in was busy because it was race day but all the staff were very friendly and professional. The room was fine with a large comfortable bed, decent bathroom and little extras. Only downsides were no view (though that didn't matter because we weren't in the room long) and the walls aren't very soundproofed. The buffet breakfast was very good and the lady running the restaurant that morning was extremely efficient and helpful. Special thanks must go to Daniel, the concierge, who provided fantastic service throughout our stay and also booked us into a great Italian restaurant with 5 minutes notice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbietowers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sending us feedback on your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team members and your room to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our restaurant team concerning breakfast.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing