We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Executive?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a combined business/pleasure trip with my wife. Someone else chose the hotel and booked the room. I do not like to have to enter the hotel through a gloomy underpass. Nor do I like the Crown chain's pretentious aesthetics once you get indoors - much to much red and bling and cheap marble - but I realize that many people will disagree.

On the plus side the hotel is centrally located, the staff in the reception was very welcoming and helpful and our (third floor?) Executive Room was spacious and clean - with a stunning view over the race court towards the mountains in Wales.

On the minus side the window had net curtains that could not be drawn unless you stood on a chair to unhook it in the corner - only to discover that one of the double glazings had been punctured and was misted over. And even worse, the windows could not be opened - a real turn-off in any hotel room. The King Bed was good but the pillows were all the same: Too big and too firm.

Also, Executive meant access to a lounge, which turned out to be a crowded, confined space with no real windows and a television on full blast. This was also where the included, continental breakfast was served - or rather, set out, since there was no staff in sight. The selection was limited and not very good, several of the plates were dirty, and there was not enough cutlery.

On top of that, you had to pay for wifi access. Really, in 2013? If that's executive I am glad we didn't end up in a regular room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aagedrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that although you found several aspects of your stay good, you left feeling disappointed with what you experienced. Firstly, I would like to explain why our bedroom windows do not open due to safety reasons. I understand this is uncomfortable for some guests but it is a Health and Safety necessity. I am pleased to announce that should you be a Gold or Platinum member of our IHG Rewards Club (formally the Priority Club) you will receive complimentary WiFi for the duration of your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife for her birthday... hoped my platinum status and the fact I sent an email, would get us some little extras but it got us nothing! Room ok, good location. I expect there are much hotels in Chester, don't expect their loyalty scheme to count for anything.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasb972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you found your platinum status was not taken into account during your time with us but I am pleased you brought it to my attention so I can ensure this never happens again with our guests. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in an ‘executive’ room at the Crowne plaza in Chester.

Good points:
Excellent, attentive & helpful staff.
Good location.
Nice Spa
Excecutive lounge was nice, but could be bigger

Bad Points
Executive room was not quiet due to adjoining door.
Executive room appeared no different from standard room
Expensive parking, when you can see it cheaper from the room window.
Wi-Fi not complimentary (and expensive)
No attempt for glass recycling in executive lounge
Black-out curtains did not.
Aspects of room dusty
Loo roll was the cheapest available.

Room Tip: avoid exec rooms with adjoining doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2coats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you found our executive lounge to be nice and our team members excellent. I am concerned to read that you found multiple issues with your executive room which left you feeling dissatisfied with your stay. I have taken all your comments on board and they will be discussed with our team members as soon as possible to ensure this does not happen again. I hope this will not deter you from returning to us in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a hectic week working all over Europe our Chester weekend was eagerly awaited. First visit to this hotel and initially the unusual set up with a combined multi story car park was a little unexpected. But from the checking in to check out the stay was excellent. The staff here are the most cheerful and most polite, friendly I have come across. Well done to all of you. We took a club room and it was very clean, large enough and very relaxing. We did not have a view but this was about retail therapy and chilling. The restaurant food was good, tasty and with a rose Pinot at 20 Gpb a very good price for a hotel of this class. Bar and restaurant have good views and service excellent. The club lounge is on the small size but I was not here for that. You walk out the door turn right left and you are in the main pedestrian shopping area. So super location. Spent far to much in the lovely shops and had relaxing time in the hotel. Had a room in a quiet zone on the 4th floor and sleep was super. My test for a hotel is would I go back again , and I can say absolutely yes. Good job !!

Room Tip: We were in the quiet zone on the 4th floor, was great sleep. No noise ! No night clubs no shouting n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186332Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team members to be the most cheerful you have come across as well as having a wonderful night’s sleep. I’m extremely happy to read that your stay was so good and I will share it with our team members so they know how good a job they’re doing.

I hope to welcome you back soon,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent location in the charming city of Chester. Helpful staff, parking available on site, good selection available at breakfast.
If you enjoy a decent pint, you will have to seek out one of the many excellent local pubs. The hotel bar had numerous lagers available, but no real ales. I understand that hotel bars may not sell sufficient volume to warrant ale on tap, but surely it is possible to offer a selection of bottled ales. We do not all drink lager !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I have taken your comments on board concerning the ales and I will discuss them with our teams. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just had a 3 night break here and found it very relaxing. My husband has some mobility problems after breaking a leg but the hotel staff helpfully gave us a first floor room close to the lifts. The hotel entrance is in an underpass, leading to the car park, which seems rather bleak but once inside it was spotless in the elegant public areas as well as the bedrooms, which had all you could need for a good weekend. Everyone was very friendly. The town centre is close so it is easy to find from the hotel. I took advantage of the pool and spa; had a massage with shells which was very relaxing. I had the best few nights sleep I've had in ages - partly due to the quiet atmosphere and partly to the very comfortable firm bed. We booked room only as we went to Chester to meet up with friends living nearby, but we would certainly return to the hotel again and try their food as the menu looked very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful couple of nights sleep with us. I’m very happy to read that everything you encountered during your stay was perfect and you would happily return in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in Chester.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay here.
on arrival,Rebbeka at reception was cheerful,polite and very helpfull-she is an asset to this hotel-I do hope management appreciate such a good advert for the place!!!
Had an executive room,on the 3rd floor-very good room,with wonderful views to the Welsh hills.
The club lounge,with canapes from 5-8pm,hot and cold drinks-beer,wine,etc,was a nice place to sit,chat and have a drink before dinner-free internet,tv etc.
Both dinner and breakfast,was included in the deal,and we enjoyed both meals-dinner was greay-and the buffet breakfast was wonderful.
Every member of staff was happy and cheerful.
Thank you Chester,we has a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to share your review with the team members in question and I’m very happy to read that everything was to your liking during your stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotelsoon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing