We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home .....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spend far too much time in this hotel as I need to be in Chester a lot. However, I would not choose anther one in Chester. The staff are superb, always very helpful. The rooms are excellent and the on site health club is cosy but useful. The hotel breakfast is good, but the evening meals suffer a little due as its the standard chain hotel offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeviceNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback of your stay.

I’m very pleased to read that as a returning guest you continue to enjoy your stays with us and find them to be comfortable coupled with our helpful and friendly team members. I hope to welcome you back when you are next in Chester.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The third time I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester. This time I paid £30 to upgrade to the club lounge. Well worth it, as well as access to the business friendly lounge, you also get a room upgrade.

The room was first class and the service in the lounge was outstanding.

The breakfast is a superb buffet style.

Room Tip: Book the Club Lounge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that everything was superb and you enjoyed your upgrade. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my wife have just got back from a one night stay at the crowne plaza hotel in chester and have absolutely loved it. When we arrived (sat 2nd feb 2013) we were welcomed by rebecca on reception and immediately felt at home and relaxed. She had a lovely manner and as this was our first time visiting chester we had no idea where anything was or where to visit. She took time to help us look for a restaurant and places of interest and even suggested that she would ring around restaurants for us to make a reservation.
After being given the cards for the room we went and had a look, (we chose the executive room on the 3rd floor) and it was as good as we expected it to be. The main part of the room was very well fitted out, bed was very comfortable and minibar was very handy but if I was to have one little moan some of the fixings in the bathroom were a bit loose and shabby but this didnt really affect our overall thoughts on the room.
As we had booked an executive room we had access to the executive lounge, this was really good however a little small but never the less you could help yourselves to bottled beers, wines, soft drinks and nibbles, lyndsey, the waitress was also helpful and very nice and couldnt do enough for us.
Breakfast was breakfast, very nice and just what you would expect when you book breakfast. Catered for all tastes.
Overall the little bits mentioned in the room was just bits and didnt really bother me or my wife at all and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone really. Its quiet, warm, safe and a great place to stay with excellent staff.

Room Tip: If you are looking to eat out in chester either, check out restaurants and book before you go or as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us a great deal and found everything to be satisfactory. I’m glad our team members were especially friendly and helpful throughout your stay and I will share your wonderful review with them so they know their hard work doesn’t go unnoticed. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The after Christmas Party event was well organised and I could not fault it. The Events Office, Paula is who I spoke to, was very efficient, friendly and nothing was too much trouble, organisational skills were obviously her forte!
We were greeted at the bar, barman remembered our drinks order for the rest of the night. Food tasted delicious, well cooked and well presented. Waiting on staff were friendly, proficient and quick to serve the meals. Even the coffee was a good brand! Could not fault anything about the meal. Entertainment was excellent and kept us entertained all night. Michael Buble act, the singer was very good and if you are planning to see him in February, you will not be let down. Disco that followed was also good, did not talk over the songs! In all a good night out and I can highly recommend any event that takes place here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HelenBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback on your experience.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your event with us and found everything to be to your liking, especially the food and entertainment. I’m glad our organisational skills shone and you found the whole evening to be well-run and smooth. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after our original
Hotel was freezing cold and the staff at the Crowne plaza were amazing and bent over backwards to help us. For such a lovely hotel, the staff were down to earth and not rude or snooty as I'd previously read on here. We went into our room and it was lovely and warm and it was an added bonus that we could control the temp ourselves so I was again amazed to read some silly comments on here by people saying the rooms were too hot! All you had to do was ask how to turn it down. The breakfast was brilliant and had EVERYTHING you could need, both for a cooked and continental breakfast. There was NOTHING missing! I will be back to this hotel again in the immediate future and would invite others to do the same. Well done to the Crowne plaza for making our stay well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessasnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

I’m very pleased to read that everything about your stay with us was great and you will be sure to return to us very soon. I hope to welcome you back soon for another brilliant stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, doesnt look much from the outside but a good location at the edge of the city center. Nice inside but I found the staff a bit snooty on check in? The double room was nice but the air con was really loud and had to turn it of at night and the room got really warm at night. Brekfast was ok nothing special. The gym and pool are good also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmoore1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us including your room, breakfast and our facilities. I’m sorry to read you found our team members to be less than friendly and the air conditioning too loud. Both points will be addressed accordingly. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went for a conference in Jan 2012 and then again 2013. The hotel is not yet quite geared up for dealing with large numbers, so we were kept waiting for check in and so on.
On the minus side, the setting is drab, it's in a multi story car park, and people loitering around in the street after dark. The wireless access is very ropey, and expensive if you are paying yourself. But it is very central, which is good. The room I had both times was comfortable and spacious as well as impeccably clean, and the gym and pool are both small, but well maintained and much appreciated. Breakfast is usual offering, so fine. The conference diners and lunches were below par though, and left us going into town for snacks!
Staff are by far and large very friendly and helpful.
So my verdict is fine for a short personal stay, but perhaps less recommended for large conferences

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almuth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that you consider us a good hotel for a personal stay and your comments on how we manage larger bookings and our WiFi have been noted for further consideration. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing