We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my daughter along with her friend both 13 years old loved this hotel, we stayed the night here on the 3rd of November, the receptionist was lovely and very helpfull....the room was very clean with lovely little extras , the room was a bit too hot in the evening so had to open a window to let some air in but this was no problem, we had a lovely meal at the restaurant and the breakfast in the morning was delicious!!!! Need to go on a diet now I think, the only thing I didnt like about this hotel was the bar prices, very expensive!! LOVED the hot tub and swimming pool, would definatley stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very basic, but heard no noise whatsover apart from the fireworks dissplay outside whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us.

I’m pleased to read you and your guests both enjoyed your stays and the facilities we offer. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    578
    174
    47
    37
See reviews for
232
858
35
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had to wait to check in. Impossible to get served at the bar. Extremely long wait for dinner. No plates at breakfast, no serving utensils. It is a shame that the service was so poor because, when you get the service from the staff, they are lovely and very helpful. They obviously didn't have enough staff to cope with the guests. Dave in the Conference room is amazing - a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexberridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us.

I’m sorry to read that you found our service to be below par and your comments have been noted for further consideration. I will pass your kind words on to our conference team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sadly, this is the worst hotel we have stayed at in/around Chester, which is very sad because we think very highly of the Crowne Plaza hotels; wherever we stay, they always have spacious rooms big double beds in twin rooms and excellent facilities. This one is a sad reflection of what these hotels normally offer.

The positive: the wonderful staff, their help, smile and service, room service; the food, and that is where all ends.
The negative, the outdated building; even the staff know that it needs to be renovated. I will certainly advise to relocate rather than redecorate. The room we were given (124) had an old fashioned TV, a view of a wall and the beds were not double. We expressed our concerns and the trainee manager "upgraded" us to an executive room on the 4th floor (the Club Floor!!). Well, the so called executive room was in the loft with a flat TV what kept freezing up because the connection was terrible. We wanted to go out but it was raining so we decided to watch TV and have room service. The food was excellent but the TV signal kept failing.

Another thing, why do Crowne Plaza hotels not provide free WiFI? I want to complaint about charging £7.50 p.p. for room service on top of £2.00 tray service; we had already booked bed and breakfast. I want a rationale for this rip-off.

All in all, we will never come back to this hotel; the Grovesnor it is from now on.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I’m sorry to read that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. I would appreciate the chance to restore your faith in Crowne Plaza Chester, so please email your name, room numbers and date of stay to gm.cpchester@qmh-hotels.com.

In regard to our WiFi prices, they are externally set, but even so, your comments have been noted for further consideration.

I am pleased that our incredible staff and food were the shining points during your stay and I will pass your kind words onto them.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great stay in Chester in this hotel. The room was well equipped with a large en suite, every member of staff was friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, and the location is great. Top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that everything about your stay was satisfactory and you enjoyed your time with us in our amazing location. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Debbie at Reception was really great, providing a quick check-in but taking the time to talk us through the hotel facilities. As this was our first visit to Chester, she provided a map and pointed out areas of interest which was really helpful.

We had a Club room which was very comfortable with a nice view of the race track. Lovely big, white, fluffy towels and gorgeous Gilchrist & Soames toiletries in the bathroom. Have to agree with comments from other contributors regarding cost of wi-fi and TV reception being poor.

Club lounge offered an appetising and filling continental breakfast.

Great location for exploring the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our location too. I’m glad our rooms and extra touches were of a good standard too, we believe it is very important to give our guests everything to make their stay more comfortable.

I will make sure your kind words are passed over to our reception team as they all work extremely hard to deliver the best service possible.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from yet another stay in this lovely city,and another stay in this lovely hotel.The staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was fine, but a more modern TV would be better.The room was very clean and the towels were lovely and soft. Also the toiletries good.Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the staff were helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel and this city for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would happily recommend our hotel for a break in Chester. Our televisions will all be updated within the next few weeks to LCD plasma screens. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights to see Chester which is a beautiful City and well worth the visit.
First the good things.
Great location only a few minutes walk away from the centre of the Chester.
Parking was easy although does cost £7.50 a day.
We had a King Size bed which was enormous. The room was a good size and clean.
Staff were all very helpful.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful but being a buffet means that the quality suffers a bit. Still OK but just not as good as it could be.
However, the Hotel is beginning to show it's age. The room was just a little bit tired, not tatty, but things need updating. For instance the TV in our room was very old, the first non LCD TV I have seen in a hotel for years! Reception for the TV was not great either.
Despite turning on the air conditioning the room was very warm.
Have to agree with other comments about Internet access. Most hotels I stay at have free wifi these days. Went without Internet access rather than pay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole. I am pleased to announce that our hotel will be going through a very thorough refurbishment within the next few years and the televisions in our rooms will all be updated to LCD plasma screens in the next few weeks. Our WiFi prices are externally set but your comments have been noted for further consideration.
Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing