We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Debbie at Reception was really great, providing a quick check-in but taking the time to talk us through the hotel facilities. As this was our first visit to Chester, she provided a map and pointed out areas of interest which was really helpful.

We had a Club room which was very comfortable with a nice view of the race track. Lovely big, white, fluffy towels and gorgeous Gilchrist & Soames toiletries in the bathroom. Have to agree with comments from other contributors regarding cost of wi-fi and TV reception being poor.

Club lounge offered an appetising and filling continental breakfast.

Great location for exploring the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our location too. I’m glad our rooms and extra touches were of a good standard too, we believe it is very important to give our guests everything to make their stay more comfortable.

I will make sure your kind words are passed over to our reception team as they all work extremely hard to deliver the best service possible.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,339 - 1,345 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from yet another stay in this lovely city,and another stay in this lovely hotel.The staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was fine, but a more modern TV would be better.The room was very clean and the towels were lovely and soft. Also the toiletries good.Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the staff were helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel and this city for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would happily recommend our hotel for a break in Chester. Our televisions will all be updated within the next few weeks to LCD plasma screens. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights to see Chester which is a beautiful City and well worth the visit.
First the good things.
Great location only a few minutes walk away from the centre of the Chester.
Parking was easy although does cost £7.50 a day.
We had a King Size bed which was enormous. The room was a good size and clean.
Staff were all very helpful.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful but being a buffet means that the quality suffers a bit. Still OK but just not as good as it could be.
However, the Hotel is beginning to show it's age. The room was just a little bit tired, not tatty, but things need updating. For instance the TV in our room was very old, the first non LCD TV I have seen in a hotel for years! Reception for the TV was not great either.
Despite turning on the air conditioning the room was very warm.
Have to agree with other comments about Internet access. Most hotels I stay at have free wifi these days. Went without Internet access rather than pay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole. I am pleased to announce that our hotel will be going through a very thorough refurbishment within the next few years and the televisions in our rooms will all be updated to LCD plasma screens in the next few weeks. Our WiFi prices are externally set but your comments have been noted for further consideration.
Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for a weekend break with a group of friends and attended a Halloween themed evening which was excellent!!
Lovely rooms, fabulous food and service first class.
Will go back soon.
Great location in centre and with car parking.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank WendyMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

I’m so pleased to read when one of our guests leaves knowing that they will return to us soon. I look forward to welcoming you back where you can enjoy another one of our themed nights or just for a nice relaxing weekend.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break with hubby. Booked an executive king club room, and upon arrival were upgraded to a king club suite so that we didn't have 'zipped' king bed. This was a real bonus, room was clean, spacious and overall lovely.
The club lounge was extremely quiet whilst we were there, however there were still plenty of fresh nibbles and drinks during the 3 (yes 3 hours) of free drinks and canapé hours.
Breakfast was hot and fresh, with lots of choice. Anything from cereal, continental to full English, including a chef to do eggs to order as well as omelette of choice, all of which set you up for a good few hours.
Spa is clean and service is very good. Pool is warm, and the jacuzzi is a very welcome attraction after walking around the walls and shops.
Location was exceptional, a really short walk to the city walls, and an even shorted walk to the pedestrianised shopping streets.
Would highly recommend and will definitely stay here again on next trip to Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful break with us. I will definitely send your kind words about breakfast over to our restaurant team as they work exceptionally hard to cater to all our guests needs. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice hotel, good location in city centre and a few minutes walk to the racecourse. City is wonderful place to walk around and good cross section of shops, highly recommend the location. My biggest gripe is the fee for Internet use of £15 per day for "fast" connection (the £10 per day for throttled connection is quite slow, so depends on what you need it for). We stayed for 3 days over the weekend on Oct 6/7th and so this added a large chunk to the bill before we even got to the room.
I was there for the marathon on Oct 7th and large number of runners at the hotel, but there was no effort made to accommodate the needs of those running e.g. no early breakfast, and not even porridge at breakfast without asking for it to be made specially, and nothing like muesli, just small packets of Kellogs cereals. When porridge did arrive it was served in a cold plate and so luke warm before you even started it. When I asked if an early breakfast was available on marathon day, receptionist did not even know there was a marathon, so that was a 'no' then!
We had several small issues while there e.g. toilet seat would not stay up (reported but never fixed), room made up very badly every day, dining bookings apparently fully booked every night when restaurant had more then 50% empty tables. We did get 2 drinks vouchers as a "sorry" for problems, but when we went to the bar to use them it was house spirits and beer and soft drinks only so could not for example have Amaretto which is what we wanted at the time - seemed very petty.
Having said all this, staff were very helpful and nice, the hotel itself was fine, pool / jacuzzi and sauna were good. Pool was only 10m long and swimming up and down therefore just about possible, but better than many hotels that prefer to have odd shaped pools that are no good to actually swim in. The problem is probably therefore at management level in the general organisation of the hotel and our experience points to them being out of touch with the requirements of the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at our hotel.

I’m pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location. I would like to apologise that we seemed to have failed to meet your expectations in regard to the marathon. If you would like to discuss any of the incidents you came across during your stay, please do not hesitate in emailing me on gm.cpchester@qmh-hotels.com.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Location in city centre good for tourists and shopping. I arrived in the evening and couldn't park ; hotel car park only take s80 cars and they don't take bookings. REally for lone females arriving at night this is a disappointment. Ended up being sent around dual carriageway to a deserted and ancient multi storey car park which was quite scary. Hotel management you need to look at this policy...
Room itself was fine and clean. Didn't eat at hotel so can't comment on food. Decor throughout good and meeting facilities average.
Have to say the reception staff were extremely helpful and chatty/friendly. This seemed to be particularly welcome from the tourists there.... Pricey though ; worth shopping around for a deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YachtSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with Crowne Plaza Chester.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay on the whole and found our team to be friendly and warm. Your comments about our car park have been noted and will be taken into consideration. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Thacker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $123 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing