We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be faulted!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Can't fault this hotel. We stayed here in Feb 2011. Had an executive room with access to the executive lounge with its free drinks etc. It was a large family room with two big comfy chairs. The hotel is in a prime location and was very modern. Had a nice bar and the swimming pool was very nice. The concierge was a very nice man and even left a bottle of wine in our room as it was our anniversary! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    571
    174
    46
    37
See reviews for
229
847
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

A very nice, clean and well equipped hotel. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The food is delicious and plentiful. Location excellent. Our double room had everything we needed, especially air conditioning.Comfy bed, slippers, gowns, iron & board, tv, phone, hairdryer and so on, all at no extra costs. Fully equipped bathroom with all soaps etc... Will definitely be going back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamtideswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booked a family executive deal with visit to Chester zoo. Arranged to pick our zoo tickets in the morning. Lovely reception lady when we arrived back from zoo checked us in. We bought dinner voucher for £35.00 but entitles you to spend £46.00 and children eat free the food was delicious and staff super friendly. She also told us that we could use the club lounge where you can sit down relax go the computer help yourself to free drinks Beers ,wines,soft drinks ,tea etc. breakfast buffet was lovely. With choice of cereals,cheeses,cooked breakfast,fruit salad etc. we used the delightful swimming pool and I used the sauna and gym at no extra exspense. Dont usually write many reviews,but felt the need to spread the word on this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxiBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very nice hotel right in the heart of the town and convenient for all it has to offer.

The room and bed was a bit on the small size, but this should be expected in such an establishment. All was clean and well equipped.

The help-yourself buffet Breakfast was quite enjoyable and generally, the staff seemed well trained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse - good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldrew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked this hotel via some hotel vouchers we had been given and this one was the only one "within the walls" which accepted the vouchers. We wanted within the walls as we did not wish to use the car once it was parked at the hotel. We were not disappointed. Right from the booking in process at Reception we received professional and easy service. The lift took us to our 2nd floor room which was roomy, clean and had everything we needed and more. The view was of the hills of Wales in the distance. We spent two nights here and there was not disturbance or any kind to wake us.
When our choice of newspaper was not delivered to the hotel we found an apology outside our room first thing stating that when the paper shop round the corner opened someone from the hotel would go and get our paper - and they did! How is that for service beyond the call?
We booked room only as breakfast seemed quite expensive and this was to be a budget break for us. However, Reception informed us that if we spoke with them first we would be issued with a voucher which would reduce the advertised price for breakfast (this is also a conference venue)
Dinner in the hotel was perfect, if a little expensive for us! The food was served on hot plates by a considerate and informed waiter. There was plenty to choose from on the menu. I would have preferred to see more fish and shellfish but that it my personal taste.
On the whole I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's close proximity to Chester with it's fascinating cobbled streets, the walls, the double decker shops, and the river. Very little walking and we saw everything we wanted. A great week-end.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailvmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The main feature of the Chester Crown Plaza is its location within a few minutes walk of the town centre. My wife and I went to our son's graduation at the Cathederal and it served this purpose very well indeed. We previously stayed at the Grosvenor for his first degree but thought we'd try something else for a change (and a little cheaper). We did eat at the Grosvenor brasserie however first evening. We had breakfasts at the Crown Plaza both days and these were good enough; only complaint being that the fresh orange was clearly off and tasted of nothing at all. I do use the quality of an hotel's freshly squeezed orange at breakfast as a measure of a its quality; it wouldn't have passed my test on this occasion but everything else during the stay was good enough. On arrival they managed to double book us in to our first room - someone else had been allocated it just 2 minutes earlier and politely answered the door to us with all our luggage ! We were given an upgrade to a suite however so it was dealt with very well. House staff were also extremely helpful with a phone charger loan and ran around on our behalf getting the right one. We had use of a guest lounge on the 3rd floor which provided some canapés and drinks; this was OK but window-less and we found it not conducive for a stay longer than one drink, especially with other guests present - a bit claustrophobic. The public areas and restaurant are very spacious with plenty of casual comfortable seating. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than breakfast. There is a lot of choice to evening-eat out in Chester. On a scale of international hotels in my opinion and for this price category I'd say this was quite good enough but with excellent staff attitude and service - pity about that orange juice though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_cpchester, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Davowolf

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was pleased to read that overall you really enjoyed your stay with us here in Chester. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the Orange Juice. I have discussed this with the team to ensure such an incident of this nature does not reoccur in the future.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit Chester

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked our stay here at the last minute, only one day before travelling. My fiance had been away with work so we thought we'd treat ourselves to a night away in Chester (which, by the way, is lovely),.

We arrived about 3pm and went to park the car, Unfortunately the car park was full, which was a bit inconvenient. Nevertheless, the car park entrance gave you instructions about where else to park and the hotel arranged it, although it was not free parking.

On check in there was a fairly big queue, and we did have to wait a while, but when a manager noticed this he radioed for additional staff and we were soon checked in.

The room was nice and clean, the bathroom clean. Everything you could need, like an iron and kettle, very happy.

The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast on Sunday morning. It was a buffet style to which we were asked to help ourselves. I normally dislike this sort of thing, since the food is often left there a while to go dry. But here I noticed the staff refreshing the hot food two or three times in the short while I was there.

Staff were helpful and friendly, greeting you in corridors and gave us helpful directions.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing