We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was an average hotel. The staff were friendly enough and the room was clean. Nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relaxed009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    598
    182
    49
    37
See reviews for
248
884
37
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We only stayed one night as we were headed elsewhere, but we will try to return. The room was fine. A normal hotel room, with all you need, but very clean. And well maintained.
Reception was efficient and friendly - but the real delight was the fantastic service at breakfast. The manager seemed to have a pleasant relationship with the staff. They all appeared to be very well trained. No dirty dishes left on tables, tea and coffee offered before you knew you needed it! All done efficiently and discreetly. It was a real joy to watch.
Unlike another reviewer, I thought £7.50 for city centre car parking was fairly reasonable.
We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We Stayed at the Crown Plaza Chester for two nights 3rd & 4th June as a last minute getaway first impressions were not good as we couldnt access the car park and when we did we were charged £7.50 per day to park there! I think this is a bit steep personally I do understand that this is a city centre location but I wish the hotel was a little bit more upfront about the car park charges in the booking process as we most likely would not of booked!!

Also my partner was then charged twice upon check in but this was refunded straight away as we had booked via last minute who had taked the payment so not a great first imppresion!

But that said the hotel is really nice great big bed very comfortable and a fab breakfast and really close to the city centre all the staff we encountered were excellent the pool was great way to cool down after a days sightseeing

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May, we looked at all the central hotels in Chester but decided in the Crowne Plaza as we have previously stayed at other Crowne Plazas and never been disappointed. The hotel can appear a bit cold and corporate at first but this is quickly overcome by the friendliness of the staff throughout. We had an Executive Room on the third floor with views over the Welsh Hills and the racecourse, very comfortable, lovely and quiet on a night allowing a good nights sleep, really good breakfast. Location is superb, you are less than five minutes walk from the centre of Chester with its plentiful shops, bars and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will no doubt return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We have had a great weekend at the Crowne Plaza, the service provided is 1st class and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they looked after us from start to finish. As it was our wedding anniversary a complimentary bottle of wine and lovely little greetings card was delivered to our room! The hotel is spotless and the rooms VERY well designed and thought out, very comfortable, and they seem to have thought of everything. The breakfast is very extensive with many choices and very good - highly recommended. The pool, jacuzzi and beauty salon is very theraputic and the staff are very nice in there. We stayed here many times when it was the Moat House Hotel and it was very good then, but now the Crowne Plaza is superb. We will be going back on a regular basis as we can be sure that we will be very well looked after. Why can't all hotels be like this? We highly recommend the Crowne Plaza - IT'S GREAT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilanfertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of the school hoildays, after delaying a trip that we were meant to make in December, bed and breakfast. We eventually found the centrally located hotel and were checked in efficiently (a hiccup in bed numbers was sorted out within 5 mins). The housekeeper then drew on the map the best places to go. We have a fantastic meal in the hotel restaurant. All the staff were friendly and all had a good knowledge of Chester. We used it as a base to visit LLandudno (forgot how pretty it was) and Chester Zoo. I would definately recommend a visit to Chester, and to use this very central hotel. Beds were comfy, food was good, rooms were quiet. The children (12 and 10) loved the pool too. A bit pricey but we enjoyed the stay. As I said we were meant to visit in December but has weather issues. As we had booked "best price" centrally we were not allowed a refund despite our informing them 3 days before about our cancellation. Lots of emailing allowed us to extend dates but if I'd have booked on Lastminute I could have cancelled upto 24 hours before.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel with head office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Everything you'd expect from a chain with a nice complimentary sleep aid pack.
Rooms are of an OK standard and the breakfast was very good.

Cons: Poor shower, limited parking, costly wifi and a weird dark and secluded 1970s entrance.

In all, quite inoffensive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzyfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,166 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing