We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and excellent staff in excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of the school hoildays, after delaying a trip that we were meant to make in December, bed and breakfast. We eventually found the centrally located hotel and were checked in efficiently (a hiccup in bed numbers was sorted out within 5 mins). The housekeeper then drew on the map the best places to go. We have a fantastic meal in the hotel restaurant. All the staff were friendly and all had a good knowledge of Chester. We used it as a base to visit LLandudno (forgot how pretty it was) and Chester Zoo. I would definately recommend a visit to Chester, and to use this very central hotel. Beds were comfy, food was good, rooms were quiet. The children (12 and 10) loved the pool too. A bit pricey but we enjoyed the stay. As I said we were meant to visit in December but has weather issues. As we had booked "best price" centrally we were not allowed a refund despite our informing them 3 days before about our cancellation. Lots of emailing allowed us to extend dates but if I'd have booked on Lastminute I could have cancelled upto 24 hours before.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel with head office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

Everything you'd expect from a chain with a nice complimentary sleep aid pack.
Rooms are of an OK standard and the breakfast was very good.

Cons: Poor shower, limited parking, costly wifi and a weird dark and secluded 1970s entrance.

In all, quite inoffensive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzyfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had read lots of positive reviews and they were all very accurate especially the staff who all went out of their way to make our stay very special!
Great hotel and fantastic location!

Room Tip: We had a great view over the race course - so ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandRWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I can barely fault this hotel, the rooms and service are great, not to mention the facilities. My family and I have been here before and often come back for a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend away. The location is very useful as it is just a short walk away from all of the best shops. I would definitely recommend staying on the executive floor, as there is a great club lounge with complimentary refreshments. I had a really enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Brilliant stay for two nights on our first visit to Chester.Parking not a problem even though we arrived on a busy Saturday afternoon.The hotel itself could not be faulted, large standard room, complimentary mineral waters and a couple of chocolates every day were a nice touch.Everywhere was spotlessly clean , breakfast very enjoyable ,the staff very friendly and the hotel itself less than five minutes walk to the shops,restaraunts and bars.Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stated here for a long weekend. All-in-all the hotel is very good.. Rooms are large and clean, breakfast buffet has a very good selection, restaurant is OK but the menu is quite limited and the location for Chester town centre is superb. The bar is OK but on Saturday night the televisions (there are 2) were on and the volume made conversation a bit of a strain. We would stay here again but probably avoid the bar!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Was great to be back here- does not look like much but really suits us- nice bar with sky sports for the boys- and child friendly food- comfy beds- big family room - very relaxing gym/pool/spa area and a beautiful beautiful city- throughly recommend it for a quick break

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria71Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $123 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing