We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mill Barn Cottage

Mill Barn, Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area Mill Barn, Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Patio area
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Mill Barn, Lounge
Mill Barn, Kitchen area
Mill Barn, Dining area
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Ground Floor, Double room
Mill Barn, Twin room
Mill Barn, King Size en-suite room
Mill Barn, King size, en-suite room
Mill Barn, Stairs
Mill Barn, Double room
Mill Barn, Open plan living
Games rooms at Milton Brook Estate
Cottage in Milton Brook Estate
Fishing Lake at Milton Brook Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CBarl
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Big house perfect for our large family gathering. Great size of living room, dining table and cooking facilities. Bedrooms and bathrooms very clean. The newly renovated bathrooms were lovely. Wet room next to downstairs bedroom was perfect for elderly guests. Pool and games room were excellent to have on site and we used the pool several times. The heating hadn't been switched on for us arriving so took overnight to heat. Cold pool! And a couple of bulbs in the pool toilet and changing rooms had gone so a bit dark. No one could connect to the wifi but nice to be internet free for a few days. Altogether, a great house and we'd definitely book again. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Many thanks for your review. So pleased to hear that you all had a great time. Apologies for the cold pool and wifi. We do have separate routers for each cottage now so I will look into this with the owner.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Many thanks for your review. It is most appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Freebiepe...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Barn was ideal for our needs. A base to use for sightseeing in Cheshire. We never used the pool or the games room so cannot comment. The Barn had everything we needed but is in need of some TLC. It's looking tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Many thanks for your review.

Glad you found it an ideal base for your needs. There are plans to make a few changes in Mill Barn before the end of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanamarg1
oldham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easter weekend”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked this for eleven for an Easter break for the family and though the open plan layout was perfect for 3 small children 2 teenagers and 6 adults I have got to say the house was in need of some TLC it smelt damp and some radiators were rusty there had obviously been some kind of leak in th kitchen and the cupboards were warped as was the surrounding worktop, though the cupboards were clean on the inside the outsides were filthy. There was lots of storage space in the bedrooms and the beds were clean and comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurajl74...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I stayed here with a group of 12 friends for a hen weekend. The cottage was around a ten minute drive from the centre.
We arrived on the Friday at the cottage and a lady was there to meet us and showed us round then left us to it.
The property is very spacious and clean.
We had a great weekend and I would definitely recommend staying here whether you are a group of friends or a family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen j...
1 review
“Everything you need for a weekend with the family”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very helpful, came straight away when we needed anything, super swimming pool
for the children and games room. Rooms all clean and pleasantly decorated.
Would definitely go again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorne201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, barn in much need of care, attention and maintenance.”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is perfect for nearby Chester town centre and other attractions. Whilst we had a uninterrupted stay in an idylic countryside location the barn itself needs some general TLC, we found one of the showers not working, part of the oven not working, most beds uncomfortable and an all round need for painting and a deep clean necessary. We had a lovely stay here but as the person booking this for a party of 9, I did feel disappointed with the general feel of the barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing