We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So Relaxing!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Grooms Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Cottages in Milton Brook Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen S
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cleaning and maintenance staff were very friendly and helpful which was nice, the cottage itself in the living room and kitchen area was alright, some of the bedroom carpets had a few stains and decor in places was a little tired, however due to the kindness of the staff we were happy to overlook this. We could only get wifi on the landing or in one bedroom nearest the landing, so I had to sit on the landing to reply to emails. The pool room (again in need of a little maintenance) did keep our children happy but we had to try not to look at the ripped sofa covers in there which really needed to be dumped.) Basically if your not to fussy decor wise this was a great holiday rental, having a pool onsite that you can use anytime was a huge plus. however, i wasn't in love with the place enough to return or recommend to friends unless it is refurbished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Decor in pool and games room.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy H
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Relaxing!”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us stayed for a mini break. There was loads of room & the cottage was immaculate. The added bonus of the pool was amazing & the setting was so quiet & tranquil. Not far from the center of Chester or Cheshire Oaks a fantastic break. We will definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baberuth...
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not quite A1”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I chose this location for a half term break with my two grand-daughters because it was close to Chester and there was a swimming pool on site.

On arrival we were impressed by the clean airy rooms and pleasant staff, although a lick of paint and a spot of carpet cleaner was needed in one or two areas. The cottage was well equipped and parking available so close made moving in easy.

The girls chose their bedroom and were eager to go for a swim. However the pool heating was broken and the pool was icy cold and remained so for the whole of our time at cottage. This left the adults somewhat annoyed and the children very very disappointed. It made our visit less enjoyable and feel it unlikely I would book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location/ staff
Liked least: being unable to enjoy using the pool
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahills555
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This accommodation is ideal, great location and great friendly staff.

Swimming pool that was ideal, we were the only people in it for three days.

If you want to visit Chester, 10 mins to park and ride, and 15 minutes to Chesser Oaks.

Would definatley return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and friendly staff
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan d
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great accommodation, friendly staff, children loved the pool. Easy access into Chester. Cleaning staff were wonderful. Would recommend it to anyone.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrielyn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience - A great family holiday!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Grooms Cottage with our 4 children for 5 nights. The Cottage was lovely and had everything we needed to ensure a super holiday away. It really felt like home away from home, although probably cleaner...lets just say it was well lived in by the time we left thanks to our kids. The bathroom was massive which was great when it came to bathing the kids. There is a laundry room with washers and dryers for the guests to use, although we never had to use the dryers because there was ample room to hang our clothes inside the cottage and it was warm enough that everything would be dry within a few hours. The kids absolutely loved the swimming pool and I don't doubt that they would say it was the highlight to our holiday. We got to meet the owner and his family who were really friendly and helpful, and found them to be down to earth and easy to talk to. We were blown away by the fact that everything was within a 10 minute drive from the cottage, in our week we visited Delamere Forrest where the kids went on the Gruffalo hunt, Chester Zoo, The Candle Workshop, The Ice cream Farm, and the town center which was loaded with history and great shops to visit. We are already talking about our next trip down and feel its a given as to where we will stay. The only draw back if I had to say anything, was that one night of our stay the tv reception was terrible, but that was due largely to the weather at the time, and we did struggle with any phone reception and wifi...but we were on holiday and it was great to not have the distraction of these things...and instead we found plenty of games around the cottage to amuse the kids, we even introduced them to the ever classic battleships, which they loved!
Absolutely loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open planned kitchen/sitting area and the swimming pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleBli...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Swimming pool was the selling point for us.”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a two night stay in Grooms Cottage for a family of five, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The apartment was ready for us on arrival, and was clean and tidy throughout, and very comfy. Loved the layout with all the bedrooms and bathroom leading off the main hallway, and having a downstairs utility was very handy. The beds were very comfy and clean, and the bathroom was very big. Apartment was always warm, but we were so lucky with the warm weather, and car parking adjacent. Being above the pool and games room was excellent! Just nipped downstairs to a lovely, warm, clean pool which felt like our own private pool, as we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves. Boys kept themselves busy in the evenings playing pool, as the Wifi is a bit patchy, as was the tv signal, and you can imagine what it's like if teenagers have no Wifi! but we would highly recommend, as great value for money. We had a day in Chester Zoo, and a day aboard the Mersey Ferry in Liverpool, and a morning around Chester, as we are frequent visitors to the area, and have visited most of the attractions. Thank You Grooms Cottage :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and games room
Liked least: Couldn't get many television channels, and wifi a bit patchy
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing