We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and relaxing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mickle Trafford Manor
Ranked #28 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for our wedding night in the Balcony Room - lovely room, comfortable bed and plenty of space. What was really nice was the hosts made us so welcome in a very relaxed "make yourself at home" sort of way. There's plenty of space downstairs so you needn't feel confined to your room (although even if you were it wouldn't be a bad place to be!). The breakfast was lovely too - lots of choice and again nice and relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony room and found it lovely and peaceful. Could certainly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife, young son and I stopped here for 3 nights back in October 2012.

Our first impressions were that it was a lovely, lovely home. Upon getting into our room (you could even call it "the wing of the house"(master room)) we were blown away.

Sammy and family have done a fantastic job maintaining the property and it just enhances your staying experience.

Although it's in a quiet village, there are amenities 10 minutes drive away with an excellent pub just up the road (The Chester Fields).

Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks no more than 10 minutes away also.

We will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erimus85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Six of us stayed over the weekend for one night in three different rooms. All a decent size with the balcony and green rooms having the lovely big beds. It was great to have a comfortable and spacious lounge at our disposal prior to going out for an evening meal. The taxi for 6 cost around £11.
The host is very welcoming. The decor is warm and inviting and the breakfast offers a variety of cooked and cold items (fruit, cereals etc.)
Minor niggle - one of the bathrooms did not have a bar of soap. Other than that our stay was relaxing and indulgent.
Loved the dressing gowns and the small tipple of sherry available in each room, with chocolates.

Room Tip: The small room had a double bed. If you want larger - choose one of the other three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyYOrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I chose The manor after reading all the fantastic reviews on trip advisor and it certainly lived up to its reputation. An amazing place full of charm and character and im so pleased I chose here to spend my birthday. It was everything I imagined it to be. A huge bed and so comfy that I didnt want to get out of it and the room very spacious and spotless. An excellent breakfast cooked to perfection. The perfect retreat undoubtedly to spend my birthday at. The only downside was 1 night wasnt long enough really to fully appreciate this beautiful idyllic house. I cant wait to return A massive thankyou Sammy for making my birthday event a most special and pleasurable one that I will never forget....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracypedder062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice house and lots of character. We were able to have a very relaxing stay & a tasty cooked breakfast.

The character of the place does mean that some things aren't as spotless as major hotels & the banister at top of stairs was very wobbly so not a place to take children.

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay and couldn't have asked for more from a B&B.
Spotlessly clean, huge bedroom with comfy bed and up market toiletries .
The hosts cannot do enough for you and the breakfast first class with a selection of fresh fruits , home made bread and your choice of cooked breakfast , any combination no trouble.
If you are looking for a place to stay in the Chester area look no further,you won't be disappointed.Made my first visit to my new grandson even more memorable.
Grandma x

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently stayed for one night after a day wandering around Cheshire Oaks and generally spending some relaxing time. We had the master bedroom, which has a huge bed and plenty of space in both the room and bathroom. Everything was very comfy and we were able to spend a nice relaxing evening chilling out. Cooked breakfast in the morning was nice, although I would say the cereals were pretty cheap and nasty. We enjoyed our stay here and it's certainly full of character and if you don't want a bland or chain hotel it's definitely well worth considering.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clipper1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Owner at Mickle Trafford Manor, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Chester and also at the Manor
a little disappointed that you thought our cereals where second rate I can assure you that we only by top brand products
And not there in inferior replacements
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.9 mi away
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
3.0 mi away
Pied Bull Inn
Pied Bull Inn
#19 of 79 in Chester
568 reviews
7.0 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#27 of 79 in Chester
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 79 in Chester
77 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cotton Farm
Cotton Farm
#12 of 79 in Chester
101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Fields Country House
Park Fields Country House
#1 of 1 in Christleton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickle Trafford Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickle Trafford Manor

Property: Mickle Trafford Manor
Address: Mickle Trafford Manor Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mickle Trafford Manor Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing