We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1539 Restaurant & Bar

1539 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #48 of 547 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant 1539 offers the most unique backdrop in which to enjoy a drink, a delicious meal or mingle in the Roof Lounge. Our menu offers twists on classic British favourites alongside dishes inspired by flavours from across the globe. The menu features some classic grills and fresh seafood.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Went here for the work's Christmas do, the food was excellent, the service was excellent and the setting was excellent. What a lovely place for an occasion!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DmjayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    140
    61
    41
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Airport lounge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very clever strategy by owners to attract custom by offering 2 courses for £15.39. The only problem was that there was a pathetic choice for this offer as the usual fayre you'd go for was supplemented to death. For example, my stunning better half had scallops (1sliced into 3 small pieces) served with Iceland chorizo croquets. £6 supplement? Rock on! My salmon starter was as thin as cigarette paper but thankfully no supplement.

Rib eye & chips were decent enough but again, £7.50 supp?

Total bill for 2 abortion starters , 2 adequate mains , cheese plate (assorted crackers from morrisons) bottle of plonk. £108.

Seating was terribly uncomfortable & the bar area has an upmarket airport lounge feel to it with hideous tall seating areas with low tables.

Service was efficient but id prefer staff that speak english.

Would i return? More chance of me knitting fog im afraid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant_Response, Manager at 1539 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review 1539, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us and all your comments have been passed on and addressed.
Regards
The Team at 1539
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect valentine meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table at 1539 for are valentines meal, the meal was from a set menu with 5 different choices of starter and main. The food was great, the portions were not big by any stretch but over the 3 courses adequately filled us up! The atmosphere was great and we would defiantly go back there again!

Helpful?
Thank SPARKY200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, would def recommend & Good Value to boot. We would go here again next time we,re in Chester

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris964hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Just does not live up to high expectations. Service was just ok and the food just did not have that amazing quality about it.

Helpful?
Thank katie22manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1539 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to 1539 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing