We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Heaven!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Heaven!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Firstly we were running late due to road closures in Birmingham City centre. Mark (the owner) asked what time we expected to arrive. I thought he asked so he would have he room ready but no..... As soon as we walked in the door he greeted us with a smile and said "I know you've had a stressful journey so I've got a pot of tea ready for you"!! What a welcome!! Then he told us everything about Chester, buses, trains, places worth a visit and even recommended restaurants!! Then we went into our room (room 2),a family room, perfect, clean and quite roomy. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and Mark's wife was very friendly as she bought us our breakfast. It's only a 20 minute walk to the centre of Chester and 5 minutes in the car to Chester Zoo. We recommend this B&B 100% and will definitely return. Huge thanks to Mark and Ramina.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    57
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
170
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chester Brooklands for the second time in 2 years. We were made most welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable. Chester town centre is only 15 minutes walk and there are plenty of places to dine within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Chester Brooklands and it is certainly up there with the best. Extremely helpful, pleasant and obliging hosts. Highly recommended for a short stay in Chester and just a short stroll to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldPerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night at this lovely B&B after spending a week in Ireland. We were greeted by Mark, who made us feel very welcome, even making a pot of tea for us to relax on our arrival. We stayed in room 1, which was so comfortable, clean and quiet! The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was well appointed. Mark advised us where to have dinner and points of interest the next day to visit. Our breakfast was provided by Mark's lovely wife, a very hearty cooked English breakfast and plenty of coffee and toast. We could not have asked for more!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome and and offer of help with our luggage. When we asked about dining, we were given really detailed information of all the nearby places, and even offered the use of their dining room if we wanted to phone in a takeaway.

The room was enormous, clean and tastefully decorated, although it had a slightly strange smell as if someone had been eating a takeaway in the room the night before. However, it wasn't unpleasant and you can't really blame the owners for such behaviour. We just opened the window. On that note, the heating was brilliant.

Decor was fine, not brand new but all in good nick and spotlessly clean. The low energy lighting made the place look more dingy than it actually was. You know when you start commenting on the lighting that you're really just getting unbelievably picky though!

The shower was fantastic, with plenty of pressure and constant temperature.

The bed could have been a little less lumpy, and we could've done with another pillow, but I'm starting to split hairs. We get the feeling it would have been sorted quickly if we just asked, had we really bothered about it.

Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before, and offered the most fantastic range of vegetarian and allergen-free options I've ever seen in a B&B. It deserves major brownie points for this alone. The quality of the served breakfast was also excellent, and the lady serving us was extremely friendly.

Overall, just what we needed.. warm, comfortable, clean and friendly, no surprises.

On another note, if you're visiting Chester itself, I recommend leaving the car at the B&B if possible and grabbing the bus from outside the front door. Parking in the town centre is extortionate, and the road planners seem to have based their work on chaos theory.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night in a triple room with my mother and son. We were dropping him off at university so wanted to be near the uni and town. We were met at the door by Mark the owner and his lovely wife. We received a lovely warm welcome and were shown to our room. Mark gave us maps and lots of information regarding directions and buses into town. It is only a 15 min walk if you would prefer. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean and very cosy.
In the morning we all had a lovely hot breakfast which was delicious. I have no hesitation in recommending this b and b to everyone. I will certainly be returning and my family. Well done Mark and Remina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARBLES102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way back to Holyhead. Mark was very friendly and welcoming. He gave us advice as to where we could eat the evening we arrived and also showed us a map of Chester and gave us directions for going into the city. We loved our room - spotlessly clean and a huge comfortable bed! You order your choices for breakfast on arrival - when and what you would like to eat. We enjoyed a delicious meal next morning. As we were able to leave our car in the car park the next day we were able to take a 15 minute walk, and enjoy a visit to the beautiful city of Chester. Would highly recommend this B&B. It is excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 4 bedroomed B&B in Chester. We offer free car parking and free super fast wifi. You will find us very peaceful and a good place to unwind. All rooms are at the rear of the property. We have an abundance of restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chester Brooklands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Brooklands b&b
Chester Brooklands Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing